R. Crumb’s Sweet Shellac

in #music7 years ago

Many of the people who regularly visit my blog will know that my comic about Phill from GCHQ is heavily inspired by the US American cartoon artists Robert Crumb. (Go here to see a great interview with him and Gilbert Shelton)

So recently I have read a few interviews with him and youtube videos about him. One of the things you learn (and you can learn that by reading his comics too) is that Crumb loves old records, especially old blues and jazz from the twenties and early thirties. You can read a fine interview about his obsessive collector-genes here: Discaholic interview R Crumb, feb – march 2013


I just had to have this image in my post even though it will cost me a #nsfw tag. It is by the master himself and found on this page

But even better Robert Crumb has also been DJ'ing in some radio-programs where he plays some of all this old music. If you would like to hear something you never heard before try to listen to music from his collection.

I really like one thing about his presentation. He often says: "I do not know what that means." A rarity in these days where everybody seems to believe they know everything.

Sort:  

My first exposure to Robert Crumb's work was in college when a class I was in showed the movie Fritz the Cat.

Up until then, the only animated movies I had seen or known about were either by Disney or Don Bluth. It was an eye-opening experience. It taught me that animation could be so much more than cute, cuddly animals. I admired the gritty look to it and loved Crumb's character designs.

Since then, I've always searched out more of his work.

I do not know what that means.

You are a rarity @shortcut!

Haha, at least I read your posts before commenting ;-)

That is a double rare! right there. You can from now on call yourself, the internet prince of rare.

Damn, I guess I can retire now.
Can harldy think of a more worthwhile achievement.

Nope, now you can just sit back with a beer and a pile of comics. I am only half rare and I already do so.

Old is gold .what is the name of singer

It is mixed string bands, Crumb present them all.

music is always refresh mind
it is very helpful for the people
thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60482.94
ETH 2613.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63