"Lasetus" by Finnish folk-veterans VärttinästeemCreated with Sketch.

in #music8 years ago (edited)


As a kind of follow-up to my previous post I thought that this 30 years anniversary jubilee song with Finnish folk veterans Värttinä, could show how deeply the tradition of the Kalevala tradition is. If you listen carefully... or look at a sample of the lyrics, you will see that it consists of line after line of alliterations. A stylistic feature found in the Kalevala. (Full lyrics here if you are interested.)


Kulki, kulki kolme luonnotarta , Laulajat laajoilt lainehilta
Suoltivat suen suu-suusanoilla, Laskivat laulut lappehilla
Noilla noijan, noijan noroilla, Näijen neitoin, neitoin neuvoilla
Laativat loihtua lietsomahan, laulun lasettajan laulattamaan

The first time I heard it, during the first bars I thought that this was just some quirky 6/4 folk-eurobeat, but it’s really a great song, with a nice violin-solo in 5/4.


Sort:  

nice, i was somewhat familiar with that subject before because of the Finnish band Amorphis.

Thanks! I will listen to some of it. I do not know them...

The finnish metal band Nightwish also use a lot of folk inspiration. Just for the record (pun intended )

And thanks to you too @mandibil. Nightwish will be on my night playlist, while drawing page break-downs for my comic.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58394.86
ETH 2618.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39