Katharsisdrill recommends - Otha TurnersteemCreated with Sketch.

in #music8 years ago

March the first is the day where Danish companies pay VAT, so I am doing the last of my accounting, which is... not my favourite occupation. So here I am with a bit of Steemit procrastination.

A couple of month ago I hunted on Youtube for military fife and drum, because I had passed the Royal Life Guards while biking in Copenhagen and had gotten one of the tunes stuck in my head. But when looking at Youtube I found a thing I did not know about: Fife & drums as a very old blues tradition originally inspired by the military orchestras. And then I saw this live-recording.

The man is called Otha Turner and from the very first notes he play, I could hear that this was the real deal. So simple and still so full of rhythmic complexity. Below is some film made in 1978, which are as much anthropology as they are music, but give it a chance just to hear that singing rural dialect, the beautiful pictures, the nostalgia and the music bits of course.


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63315.26
ETH 2668.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79