Johan Sebastian Bach

in #music6 years ago (edited)

The hardest piece for piano I ever played (or finished) is the first fugue in Bach's Das Wohltemperierte Klavier. I have played a couple of Chopin's nocturne and when I can add the op.27 no.1 to the repertoire, then I think the fugue will get in second (I got stuck at the second part of the nocturne and today i am completely out of the routine).

I choose Glenn Gould's version as he is the master of Bach. He had a feel for the contrapuntal music that is unsurpassed. (Counterpoint is music where many tunes are played at the same time, creating the harmonics only from the simultaneously played notes (there is probably a more elegant explanation)). Try listening (and see) this clip where he plays Die Kunst der Fuge.

Bach was one of the artists that was forgotten for a long time and then was reinvented, first by the romantic composers and then slowly his oeuvre became part of the general canon. I once was told that Mozart found the Wohltemperierte Klavier in a box of old scores outside an antiquarian and that the fugue began to appear in his music all the time... probably a myth, but Mozart did admire the old Bach. Some of the last pieces that was "reinvented" was the Cello Suites, that was introduced to the public by Pablo Casals in the early 20th century.

To me the cello suites are very familiar as my father plays the cello. They are like the background music of my childhood. Here the second suite is played by the fabulous Danish cellist Morten Zeuthen. I you consider buying a version to stand beside Rostropovich and Casals and the other old masters I would recommend his.

The last Bach I will play for you today is the Goldberg variations. These were also pieces that I listened to as a child. My father told how his uncle, a known jazz musician that had originally been destined to be a concert pianist, but whose career was destroyed by a personal tragedy, played this piece his whole life. In the summer holiday when this uncle visited, my father could hear him play early in the morning. But when my father and his brothers came down, he immediately stopped playing and went to make them breakfast.

I will have to play Glenn Gould again, he made two recordings, one in 1955 and this from 1981. I prefer the mature, late version.

Just to finish this I found this great version of Oscar Peterson playing his tribute to Bach. Peterson was classically educated and as he was a virtuoso already as a teenager he became on of the most technically acclaimed jazz pianists of his time. Here he plays a cadeau to the old master.

Sort:  

@winstonalden, have you played this? I can't recall. I wish he still played the piano, but it's locked away.

Gould is a genius, even with the humming.

If he ever started on the Well tempered piano he just might, it is the second piece. The preludes are normally what amateurs play as the fugues are triple difficulty. It took me ages to get thorugh it, but you learn something about music while you are at it. And sad that the piano is stuffed away. I haven't played regularly for two years at least, but I like to have it handy.

First time my wife heard Gould she was furious about the mumbling :) Her temperament is sometimes triggered by strange things; birds, happy people.

Nope. I did the C-minor.

That poor grand piano. 100 years old this year! Someday I'll get a Nord keyboard and never have to worry about tuning - or paying to have it moved!

I started on that too, but then I was distracted and started playing other things. It is a beautiful piece, better tune and more logic than the quirky c-major.

Electric pianos are good, cheap, you can use earphones so you will not disturb your fellow human beings. I have an upright piano with a fine sound. My neighbours (or rather the couple that lives underneath - it's a flat) are not complaining, mostly because they have wild parties with house music and male strippers - and once I was down there fixing some domestic drama when a violent ex-boy-friend turned up. So they kind of owe me a bit of Bach.

Somehow I think your neighbors are getting the better end of the bargain. At least until you install a pipe organ and play the D-minor Toccata and Fugue.

They are indeed. I will have to talk to my wife about the pipe organ. She is actually very tolerant when it comes to music as she grew up in a family where there was almost no music at all. She also likes baroque style so maybe we can have one with putti and skulls.

24 hours in a day isn't enough time for your many loves and interests! Back before we were on each other's radar I did a post about the Bach family -- fascinating family.

I've had a chance to ask a couple of musical geniuses about him, and his greatness (now) seems to be universally recognized.

Thanks for the post, excellent clips!

Four-five years ago I made some illustrations for a classical music magazine and the first creative commons artwork I published as Katharsisdrill was one of the rejected proposals. It is of C.P.E. Bach, the son of the old wig as his children called him.

You can see it here: https://www.datataffel.dk/posts/27676

Sometimes I feel I could use 27-28 hours more a day... on the other hand - I still find time to follow link like these: "The Kardashians reveal their inner secrets", "Florida man eats bicycle". So...

Nice touch having him at Old Wig's feet ;-)

I'm waiting for you to draw and share the Kardashians "outer" secrets!

I think the Kardashians do that more than adequately themselves.

You gotta love that hair!

What a treasure! Thank you for this! The best thing I've seen on the internet in past few weeks for sure.

Thanks a lot! If you had said ever I would not have believed you but past few weeks! I am honoured :)

I meant what I said, and I said what I meant. 😊
The story about your uncle is very neat. I wish I had a cool uncle like that.

He was actually the uncle of my father, but I meet him many times and he was the sweetest man towards children. I liked him. He looked like a thin version of my grandfather (his brother).

Sorry I got that wrong. Your great uncle I guess? Anyway, still very neat story.

No need to be sorry. My family is large and confusing. I am not sure what you would call him actually.

Just lovely! So glad to see a classical community on here. I have been taking classical lessons this year and decided to start posting to Steemit, and it's so lovely to see some people already encouraging me.

Great work. Following because I want to hear more :)

I had to check your profile to see that it was song lessons. I mainly post my art and comic, but I am interested in music too so I post about that too.

Great performances from the old masters! That jazz rendition was especially interesting!

Resteemed, your post will appear in the next curation with a SBD share for you!


Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community. You can find details about us below.

The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord.
Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio.
Follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto or help us out with a delegation!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63931.73
ETH 2663.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84