Dido's Lament...

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Please, if you do not have time for reading all my questionable rubbish, go directly to the video to hear the music or you will cheat yourself of really, great beauty.


Henry Purcell

One of the most interesting baroque composers is Henry Purcell - a lonely figure in a land that never excelled in great composers as they did in other field (and that is Britain) (and yes I am not counting David Bowie or Paul McCartney. I just compared with the classical composers...) (sorry...).

The thing I like to play for you is from one of his largest achievements, the chamber opera Dido and Aeneas.

The libretto builds on a story from the Roman author Virgil's opus magnum - the Aeneid, where the trojan Hero, Aeneas, that is destined to end up at the Tiber and build Rome, has a serious flirt (in great part due to the intrigues of the Gods) with a Phoenician queen, Dido of Carthage. Virgil was not like his ancient model Homer free of making his heroic epic into a political allegory (and who knows what Homer actually did back there in the Bronze-age), and the connection between the coming founder of Rome and the queen of its arch-enemy Carthage is no coincidence, but is intended to promote the proud nationalism of Rome in its finest moment. Dido is therefore not treated all that fairly. She is deadly in love with Aeneas, but when duty call he rather boringly departs and she hysterically kills herself and foresees eternal strife between their two people...

But Purcell turns the story around. Aeneas the ass is deceived by a revengeful soothsayer and leaves the love of his life - which she takes so very, very beautiful. Just read these lyrics.

When I am laid, am laid in earth, May my wrongs create
No trouble, no trouble in thy breast;
Remember me, remember me, but ah! forget my fate.
Remember me, but ah! forget my fate.

I can say no more. Now listen to the aria:

This is my favourite version with Katherine Bott - it is beautiful! and as is the custom of these authenticity hunting days it is played on original instruments from the Baroque

Sort:  

Hi @katharsisdrill,

Thank you for posting this article. I enjoyed reading your commentary on Henry Purcell and his chamber opera, Dido and Aeneas. I also enjoyed the embedded youtube video with the aria performance by Katherine Bott.

We shared your post on the Steemit's Best Classical Music facebook page, and included in our latest Roundup post.

Cool, it's a fine initiative! Try to look at the comment below by @bengy.

This is one of my favourite pieces to play, great viola part!

If you are interested, we are trying to build a community of classical musicians and music lovers at the tag #classical-music.

I will use the tag when I post about classical music, and try to look it up once in a while! Fine initiative! Try to look at the comment above by @classical-music you might have some help and exposure from that account!

Yes, we know each other. He started the tag, I joined later and have started the dischord and outreach.

https://discord.gg/ppVmmgt

I'll pop by when I get the nerves to open the Discord app again sometime :) Thanks for the invite. Have you also seen the posts of @steemswede? He writes about classical music too,

am already moved to tears here
never interested in opera or classic music but this one moved me

It really has that effect!

This reminded me of my desire to see an opera again. The last one I saw was Das Rheingold a couple years ago and I loved it. This is heart-wrenchingly beautiful!

Oh, Rheingold is my favourite Wagner opera after Tristan and Isolde. I am glad you liked this early opera aria - it is so very beautiful.

It is obviously a great music.
I always visit your site and
wait for your next post.
Thanks for sharing @katharsisdrill

Did not know this aria and the story around it.

Man, it is SO beautiful. Thank you for sharing!

The music of Purcell relaxed me, very good publication, I follow you and you have my vote Follow me too and leave a vote in my last publication
https://steemit.com/openmic/@misc.jocs/something-you-do-not-know-about-me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64155.87
ETH 3422.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59