Technofriday : Perlon, the legendary label

in #music6 years ago (edited)

L-538-1255021543.gif.jpg

Perlon is a Berlin based label run by Zip and Markus Nikolai.
It has a kind of elite and purist feeling to it,
some of the artists that released on Perlon are
Ricardo Villalobos, A Guy Called Gerald, Akufen,
Baby Ford, Cabanne, Cassy, Efdemin,
Luciano, Dandy Jack, Matthew Johnson,
Stefan Goldmann and Thomas Melchior.
However, this is just a quick list of names, there are many more.

Perlon started in 1997 and is still going strong - even though they almost act in secret. What do I mean by that? Perlon is a vinyl only label.
Let that sink in…
Vinyl only means none of their records had a digital release, ever.
In this day, where young DJs never touched a vinyl in their lives thats almost a revolutionary act, they are basically invisible on the digital market. They released a few compilations on CD I have to admit, but everything else is vinyl only.
I am 34 and consider myself old when it comes to techno but I learned to DJ with records and I’m happy that I’m able to do that. When DJs go record hunting these days on the internet they wont find Perlon, they probably don’t even know that it exists. But it does and its still as strong as it has ever been.
The bold move to stick to vinyl releases only is what makes Perlon legendary in my opinion… and the records and get perlonized partys of course.

I´ll leave you with some examples from the past twenty years,
Happy Friday everyone!

A special thanks goes to @neutronenkind and @uwelang for creating #technofriday and for pushing quality music on steemit!

Sort:  

Mathew Johnson and Luciano together on a track is more than enough to take a closer look on that label ! Thanks for the information
It is very nice that you guys are trying to promote techno culture on the Steemit. You have a full support from me ! Soon I will post some informations about our local techno labels - Technosoul (PL) and Tar Hallow (NL), just let me collect more informations :)
Peace Love Unity Respect !

I could need some support with the
World of techno map 🌍🌎🌏

Raving Foxes will definitely co-operate with you on this project. It is already added to our bookmarks to keep it constantly in our minds. Soon we will post our first Secret Location Rave review ! Stay tuned
PLUR

Matthew Johnson!!!!!! One of the gratest artists ever!

yes, at some point i´m going to post "decompression" as well ;)

That is one of the best tracks ever made in my opinion!

And this one:
Mathew Johnson - Symphony for apokalypse

oh I remember that one... were the melody is sometimes almost painfully detuned. But in my opinion techno isnt supposed to be easy anyway!

exactly – techno has to hurt... (at least a bit)
most of the modern techno seems to be pretty aligned and "boring" (yes of course there is still good stuff out there)

sure, there is always good new stuff. I just prefer the tracks that are more challenging.

Do you know John Starlight?

yes, Zombie Nation. He's good in making challenging music

Immer gern!

too bad I can't spin vinyl :(

its never to late to learn!

ah ok, Ich dachte da sollten nur DJs drauf. gut zu wissen!

Eigentlich ja, aber wieso nicht auch Labels wenn man's markiert 😉

wow. no idea this existed. i think i'm in <3. something truly special & irreplaceable about vinyl. great share!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68433.35
ETH 3735.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66