4 O'CLOCK (Taehyung ft. Namjoon [BTS]):A song about the gloominess of dawn and friendship

in #music6 years ago (edited)

The song is very simplistic, with only an acoustic guitar and a piano as accompaniments. It's very calming and soothing with not much of an expressive, emotional type of feel to it. No screaming or high notes. It's a song of two deep toned voices, one a very soothing deep vocal that you'd love to hear in the cold of the night and a low toned rapper that expresses much emotion despite the calm song.

I guess that's what I like most about it. It doesn't ask for much, no complication, no drama. It's a song that you could listen to with the cold breeze of the dark with only the moon as the source of light. Taehyung, a.k.a. V, was the one who came up with the theme of the song, saying he wanted for it to have the feel of what he had felt when he was waiting for a friend in a park at dawn and Namjoon, a.k.a. RM, expressed his understanding of that feeling that the dawn gives you, the sense of gloominess and yet at the same time hope.


Photo

I guess not everyone sees it that way, in my case, I think of the dawn as somewhere I can hide and just rest and yet it can also give you that feeling of loneliness because of the quite, cool ambience of it. Compared to when it's daylight where you can hear the chirping of the birds, the honking of the cars and people talking.

Whenever I hear the song, I don't know why, but it always give me hope. Like that feeling of helplessness and lonesomeness under the blanket of the dark but when the blue fades, and in comes the sun, it's a sort of testament that light will come to seek out the dark, that someone will come for me, save me and comfort me. That a friend will be there for me.

Though, in the wrong moments, this song pains me so much. We've all lost friends before, and not lost in a way that they died or something, but maybe to some that may be the case. But for me, especially recently, I lost a friend in such a petty manner. She deemed me guilty even without conducting a jury, and it hurts, that she thinks I can hurt her that way, and that she doesn't value our friendship as much as I do. For me, true friends are rare and precious. Some know me more than my own family, and she is someone I trusted and relied on, and even though she thinks I did her wrong, I won't try to prove myself to someone who already hurt me and judged me without even asking me.

This simplicity of this song reflects how easy a friendship goes, but your view of the dawn also reflects how you see your friendship as.

Sort:  

very nice post and good music.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17