(Re-)Learning to Play the Recorder

in #music7 years ago (edited)

This is my very first blog entry. I'm not 100% sure yet what belongs here, but I guess that is something that will come with practice. Anyway, a little context about me: I am a Swiss computational linguistics student in my first year. The subject matter at the university is very exciting, but it's also very head-heavy, so I decided that it's time to make music again to have a balance next to this mental work.


Being a Beginner again

Here I have to say that I neglected to play music for about twelve years. In primary school, I was a solid soprano recorder player for my age, but that was a long time ago and I forgot a lot of things, to be honest. That's why it was a new beginning for me when I started playing the recorder again a few days ago. Unfortunately, I have somehow lost my old (and very high quality) soprano recorder over the years or even disposed of it during a cleanup. In short: I have no idea where it is. That's why I had to buy new instruments.

Of course, I also wanted to have a certain challenge and that's why I acquired several instruments at once, namely a soprano recorder, a tenor recorder and a tin whistle. Fortunately, the soprano and tenor recorder have the same handles, which makes life a little easier for me. However, with the tenor recorder, the sheer size of the instrument is a challenge, and at the moment I'm still working on hitting the low notes straight away. But I am sure that with time I will get to grips with this too. 


The Instruments

 My instruments are all beginner's instruments and this is certainly a good thing for the moment, especially as I am only learning them for myself and without a teacher or lessons.

 My Tin Whistle is the Clarke Pennywhistle in D: 


 My soprano recorder is the Yamaha YRS-32 B: 


 And at last my tenor recorder is the Yamaha YRT-304 B II:




Why you might want to follow this blog in the future

  • Sharing my rediscovered joy in these instruments with me
  • Follow my progress (hopefully)
  • I will also upload lesser known music and folksongs to DTube
  • I will share some interesting background information about the music here


Do not expect perfectly played music, I am a beginner, and this will not change in the near future ;)

Sort:  
Loading...

I am curious to hear about progress. I have been wanting to start playing an instrument for a while now too, but I haven't overcome myself yet.

I love your post! Amazing info, flawlessly written! Contratulations, I will keep following you :D

fenomenalno !

Congratulations @kaffelkaffel! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @kaffelkaffel! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @kaffelkaffel! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61821.96
ETH 2402.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57