Music is my religion or maybe it's my drugsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Where do you turn for guidance when you are troubled? What lifts your spirits after a bad day? For me it's the carefully constructed combination of sound and silence, flowing into melodies and harmonies.
I like to turn the volume up and just feel. Music can affect my mood the way the position of the sun affects the color of the sky. It's the light hearted cool blue of mid day, when the sun is flying high or the warm orange and pink of sunset to relax the day away. And even the darkness in the void of the sun.

PicsArt_01-02-02.37.59.jpg

Too often in our society we're expected to suppress our emotions or pretend everything is ok. But sometimes everything isn't, and that's ok. Music let's you feel. Sometimes it's the lyrics, sometimes it's the beat, sometimes it's the energy of the performers. Or maybe it's a combination. There is music for every emotion. Whether you need to feel the pain or need to be uplifted, music's got you covered.

I can remember being 15 years old, having no answers to any of life's questions, feeling lost and alone. And music was my life line. Music helped me feel.

Flashbacks! Still today when I hear Smashing Pumpkins on the radio it takes me back to a time in my adolescence when the only thing that controlled me was the amount of gas in my car.
I can tell you the song that kept playing on my first date with the love of my life, my husband: Matchbox Twenty, 3am. Even though there is nothing romantic about that song, I can listen to it and mentally be in that moment with him, 13 years ago. Nervous smiles, awkward eye contact, both of us ignorant of how lucky we are at that moment.

Having a rough time? Find a radio or a streaming music service, tune it to one of your favorites, turn the volume up and feel! Feel bad, feel good, either way, feel it!
<3 justjessica

Sort:  

You're true, music is like one of the best drugs, with sport. Here is an article about it, you made me thing about that
http://themindunleashed.com/2017/12/your-favorite-song-is-rewiring-your-brain-heres-how-music-is-changing-you.html

very cool, thanks!!

By the way, I took this photo at a Fuel concert. It rocked!

So cute. Are you a musician 😀.

I don't think I can consider myself one. Drum line in marching band and played viola in orchestra in highschool. Playing requires too much dedication. I prefer to be a spectator.

Lol. Your choice nobody can force you enjoy.

That's a really good outlook to have

Your Welcome.

#photography
this is the first time I m happy to see you including people who are lucky to get it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63362.14
ETH 2592.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80