Today's band worth listening to: White Lies

in #music8 years ago

I thought I'd use Steemit to share the music of different bands I enjoy, the first of which today is 'White Lies' from London.

Should you have ever listened to this band before and explored their previous three albums, you will understand the route that has been taken. 2009's critically acclaimed #1 debut 'To Lose My Life' was a bold step into a Post Punk world, with shattering bass lines and memorable choruses filled with synth related teasers of what would be next. Not to mention the incredible vocals of Harry McVeigh.


In 2011 came 'Ritual', and continued to introduce a wonderful eighties vibe while pinning down a unique sound. This album sounded big, with a number of memorable anthems including 'Bigger Than Us' (Who doesn't want to see a chocolate bar in hospital after all?). A bands second album is always the trickiest, and although it did't receive the raving reviews of their debut, their intent was clear.

This was followed by 'BIG TV' in 2013 and the sound warped into something a little different. Instead this time it became something of a concept album for the band, a story of an astronaut trying to find love (that's how I read it anyway). The clever point being the songs don't mention this astronaut in the lyrics, all you need is the album cover and paints the rest of the picture for you.

The familiar deep riffs remained and the songs continued to build up to a final last memorable chorus, yet a more melodic side was appearing and continued to hail into a post-punk revival-synth infused mashup. It's clear at this point of the move away from their bold first step into the music world, it has been a transformation that has truly nailed a unique sound today. I may sound like I'm repeating myself, but it's true.

This consistent path has continued into their latest LP 'Friends' which came out two weeks ago after a three year wait, and it was worth it. All I ask is you give it a listen, starting with a song called 'Swing'. It encompasses all I've talked about and has definitely completed what I expected White Lies to produce from this album.

We have also been treated with four bonus tracks (only currently on cassette, so no sharing just yet). These four should be on the album in my opinion, as they represent White Lies at their purest. Until I can share them, just give this latest album a go, and I'd love to see what you think.

If anyone decided to read this, I hope it introduced you to an interesting band, and if you didn't like them, then fair enough. (They are judging you below though)

White lies are:

Harry McVeigh - Vocals/Rhythm Guitar
Charles Cave - Bass
Jack Lawrence-Brown - Drums

International Tour Dates (incase you're interested): http://whitelies.com/live/

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing. Are you new? How did you find out about Steemit? Do you have any questions?

No problem! I am indeed. Just started to dig in deeper in my understanding of cryptocurrencies, and came across this amazing concept. I think I'm understanding it, a little confused about the whole powering up/down the Steem power though.

There is some info on that in their FAQ: https://steemit.com/faq.html

If you have any other questions beyond what is covered there (or on anything else), just let me know.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.15
ETH 3505.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53