Adding Music to D-Tube - A moral conflict?

in #music7 years ago

Whats going on Steemit people.

So as of today, I've been doing a public service and moving my favorite music (starting with Sublime) to http://d.tube

You can see my DTube account here:

I'm morally conflicted here though. I do feel like this music needs to be uploaded here. If this is going to combat youtube, its not a choice. I know a ton of peple who use YouTube as their primary method of listening to music.

The first thing I did when I signed on d.tube is look for music I loved, just to check out the streaming quality etc. and I found nothing!

Needless to say, I started moving over some of the good stuff. The awesome thing is, there's no delete button. Once its on the blockchain, it's there.

HOWEVER, I realize that music that is not mine is now being monetized... and If i were to get some type of cease and desist letter, how would i remove it? and more so, is this morally wrong?

As a musician ive always felt that the legacy your music leaves behind is more important that scrounging for pennies, and there's no better way to live on forever than through the blockchain, but I also understand that I do not physically own this.

Anybody got thoughts on the subject? I'd be interested to hear what the community thinks.

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66081.13
ETH 3315.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69