Why creating music is so important (Ambient LP)

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Music is universal.

Music has no language.

Babies, adults and even animals can be affected by it.

I'm a musician. (Not the best, I have no delusions, lol). I'm self taught and I feel that I certainly have a long way to go before my music is as polished as I'd like but everytime I create a new composition or even just jam I feel like I've shared something that is impossible to describe.

That's why I was inspired to name my last mini LP Pneuma.

pneu·ma /ˈn(y)o͞omə/
noun PHILOSOPHY
(in Stoic thought) the vital spirit, soul, or creative force of a person.

I feel that music is one of the many ways that as humans we can express and share our Pneuma. It allows us to create a mood or atmosphere in the mind of another person and that is extremely powerful!

This is my original music and I also created the visuals. I'm bad with categorizing but I would say ambient/electronic/chill.

I would love it if other musicians and artists would comment so I can follow them, I am trying to find the music creator community here on Steemit!

Sort:  

Pretty stuff, I like the last track the best I think.

Thanks I think I was feeling a bit melancholy when I composed the first two, it probably comes across! The last one was a bit more experimental/jammy.

Great ! Pneuma - I love that word. I can see why you vibed in on my sound-poem . ... such mellowness and mesmerizing visuals. I like collaborating with other Steemit artists. Would you be interested ? I'll try to find you on Discord. I'm not that used to it there yet.

I responded to you on discord but whichever place you prefer we can chat

Im a new fan... I really love your creativity!!!!! You have inspired me to share some of my, what I call Environmental Music. Music that evokes an environment when it is played.

Yes! I love that style of music, atmospheric I guess? People always ask me what genre I make and I usually say ambient but atmospheric/environmental, soundscape maybe? is probably a better description. Nobody would know what i am talking about though so I keep it simple :)

Also while I was listening to your track I was getting this feeling that you reminded me of another artist and it came to me, Mike Patton. I don't know why because your song is completely unique and not really like his but i was just getting that vibe haha. This is one of my favorite albums, its a collab with Kaada (who is also great):

Thanks for introducing me to this music....it is GREAT!!!!!!

I'm glad you liked it! if you want any more ambient recommendations I will give you some!

YES!!! PLEASE!!!!

My top ambient artist is Brian Eno, he has something like 70 albums! I listen to his music all the time, Music for Airports and The Ship are two of my faves.

Also William Basinski is great.

Aphex twins are usually more upbeat but they have a great ambient compilation.

AGF is a glitchy minimalist poet/musician

Boehren club de gore is very slow jazz, almost sounds slo-mo

Kaada (album Virginal Coordinates) (he is usually rock but this one is so nice and chill)

Let me know when you run out haha and Ill give more that should keep you going for a while!

Its kinda weird but being a writer puts me in large time frames that shelter me from exposure to what other artists are doing. When I come up for air...I seek inspiration from others. I have met lots of people that know a lot more about the art in the world than I do. They often ask me what box I came out from under...LOL....

Alright!!! Im digging in now!!! Thanks a bunch!!! This is like candy for my soul!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62980.29
ETH 2631.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82