Week 60: THE BEATLES (420 to 30: A Music Retrospective)

in #music3 years ago

My favorite band, and the favorite band of many, is The Beatles, which you probably could have guessed by my dedication of four weeks to their solo careers earlier in this list and their absence to this point. To which I say, good guess! Between 1962 and 1969, The Beatles achieved what no other artist had done before or has done since. The sheer volume of widely-accepted-as-great music and its widespread, long-standing popularity, recorded in such a short span of time, is astounding. That John Lennon, Paul McCartney, George Harrison, and Ringo Starr just-so-happened to all be from the same town and right around the same age and interested in being in a band together is surely one of history's greatest coincidences. Their music has been a soundtrack to my entire life and therefore the most fitting conclusion to this list. Thanks everyone for reading.

420 to 30: A Music Retrospective

60 Weeks to 30 Years-Old, with 420 Songs by 60 Different Artists



Here's 30 of my favorites from The Beatles.

Week 60: THE BEATLES

TheBeatles.png




65804560_10213951530054571_895277132463210496_n.jpg

#414/420 - The Beatles, “Eleanor Rigby”

(originally from 1966, Revolver)


It was very hard to narrow it down to only seven, and quite frankly, even into only 30 (how I managed to leave off so many classics with such a large number to insert them into is somewhat baffling) but these seven all combine quality and enjoyability with nostalgia and personal meaning for me in a way that makes them hard to unseat. The first of which is my favorite track from Revolver and my favorite song by The Beatles that was written mainly by Paul McCartney.

This is an unusual piece in The Beatles’ catalog for its lack of rock instruments, instead using a string section of violins, violas, and cellos, with only Paul, along with John and George singing together, for the vocals. It’s also unusual in the lyrical content, which tells the tale of the fate of a lonely old woman, the titular character, Eleanor Rigby, and the priest who buries her. It is a morose yet beautiful short story in poetic form.

“Eleanor Rigby picks up the rice in the church where a wedding has been, lives in a dream. Waits at the window, wearing the face that she keeps in a jar by the door. Who is it for?”

The descriptions are so colorful in spite of their gloom. Paul paints such a vivid picture of this woman in so few lines. She wears makeup, but for whom? She is not at the wedding, she only cleans up after.

We then meet Father McKenzie. He writes the sermon for Eleanor’s funeral. He digs her grave and buries her body himself. But what is the reason for all of this, the narrator asks, if there is no one left who cares about her, no one at the funeral, no one to visit her grave? What a sad, yet poignant question and reflection on the futility of life’s ceremonies and to-dos. Paul was only 23 when he wrote this song. It is very insightful and thoughtful coming from such a young person. It is easy to forget how young The Beatles were when they wrote some of these remarkable songs, based on the content.

The chorus is haunting and wonderful, with excellent harmonies from The Beatles. Notably, in my personal life, this is one of the only songs I can ever recall hearing my dad sing along to. While I can scarcely think of a song my mom hasn’t sung along to, it is much rarer to hear my dad unable to resist the temptation, and it always struck me that this was one of the few songs to do it, being that it is such a deep and unique song. I think I am fortunate to have been raised by two people with diverse and good tastes in music.

This song and this album made for a very interesting shift in The Beatles’ catalog, which I think was the crux in making them absolute legends instead of just a very, very good band of their era. Revolver was after they had stopped touring, and their musical exploration just took off without the limitation of needing to recreate each song as a live four-piece band. They did not hold back in pushing every boundary and ended up with magical, touching, and awe-inspiring songs like this which made The Beatles one of the best bands of all time.



66648994_10213956797586256_5856206032857989120_n.jpg

#415/420 - The Beatles, “In My Life”

(originally from 1965, Rubber Soul)


Due to the timing of when I started this list, it doesn’t actually end on my 30th birthdate, but a few days after, and so this song is the one to land on the date itself, and I think it is a fitting track to claim the position, given the nostalgic nature of this list’s creation in the first place. It is my favorite song from Rubber Soul and one of the best sentimental songs ever written. This song puts into words and feeling the way I feel and have felt about the best people in my life.

Lennon originally wrote this with direct references to things personal to him, but eventually revised it to be more general, and the effect is the wonderful ability for the listener to insert their own memories and places into the song. Both methods can be effective in songwriting, but here I think the ultimate choice was perfect.

“There are places I’ll remember all my life, though some have changed. Some forever not for better, some have gone, and some remain.” This is a universality put so well that we will all experience with time. As we grow, the places we knew in childhood change. I have seen parts of my hometown and first neighborhood disappear, and others grow old. Time changes all, but memories can last a lifetime. “In my life, I’ve loved them all.”

The song then directs its attention to one, becoming a love song. “Of all these friends and lovers, there is no one compares with you.” After such a strong expression of affection for the things and people throughout one’s life, to turn the focus to one other person is profound. “In my life, I love you more.” It is very beautiful.

George Martin, The Beatles’ producer (often called “the fifth Beatle”) contributes a sped-up piano imitating the harpsichord in a memorable solo that feels nostalgic, heartfelt, and quaint. It allows time to reflect on one’s own experiences before the sentiment is reaffirmed by Lennon. “Though I know I’ll never lose affection for people and things that went before, I know I’ll often stop and think about them. In my life, I love you more.”

I remember listening to this song when I was very young and loving it even then. While I didn’t have anyone in my life these words felt right about, I imagined meeting this kind of person one day. Now I find, the more of life I live, the more these words ring true and the closer it comes to being a perfect fit, and always remains a favorite.



66581338_10213987873043123_1867945551215984640_n.jpg

#416/420 - The Beatles, “This Boy”

(originally from 1963, “I Want to Hold Your Hand/This Boy”)


While “I Want to Hold Your Hand” was the mega hit that launched Beatlemania and made John, Paul, George, and Ringo into household names to this day, its B-side in the UK is the early Beatles song that this boy is most fond of. This song is a treasure, and is one of my absolute favorite doo wop rock and roll songs of all time. The vocals on this track are exceptional. It is my favorite vocal performance from John Lennon in any of his songs and the harmonies with Paul and George are incredible. Whenever I see the image of their classic positioning with Paul and his bass on the left pointed left, George to his side with his guitar pointed right, Ringo on the platform with his drums behind, and John bouncing on his heels off to the right, this is the song I hear in my mind.

It’s a relatable scenario—a song about a guy who lost the woman he loves to another guy who treats her poorly, and how badly he wants her back. Particularly relatable to young people, the song aptly described them as “boys”, which endears it all the more. Lennon sings his heart out. “Oh, and this boy would be happy just to love you, but oh my. That boy won’t be happy, till he’s seen you cry.” The emotion here is palatable to say the least. It shouldn’t be understated how great George is on lead guitar right from the very start of The Beatles either.

One of my fondest memories of this song was during my third trip to Colombia. I had gone chasing after a relationship and while it seemed to be going well initially, things quickly fell apart and the evil ex came back and I lost out. I ended up on a road trip to the Caribbean coast with a family I had never met before instead and ended up befriending a young kid who I would joke around with while lounging around in the hammocks at the beach house. I explained my bad luck to him and played this song for him, saying it was relatable. He didn’t understand the English so I ended up singing it to him, and eventually had him joining in, replacing the words with Spanish, turning it into “este niño”. I remember we had a great laugh, and while my primary reason for the trip didn’t work out as planned, I ended up with memories that I value a lot and friends I will never forget.

The Beatles had it right from the start, all the way through, and right to the end. “I Want to Hold Your Hand” and its excellent reverse side could have been it for many groups, but the world was about to find out just how much more these guys had in store for them, and popular music would never be the same again.



67254493_10213987958725265_4222082680239423488_n.jpg

#417/420 - The Beatles, “It’s Only Love [Takes 2 & 3]”

(originally from 1996, Anthology 2)


This song never stood out to me particularly much on the album Help! amid so many other great songs, and even Lennon himself was fairly dismissive of this song years later, calling it “a lousy song” with “abysmal” lyrics. McCartney called it “filler”. That said, although the takes featured on The Beatles’ second Anthology album, released in 1996, are not strikingly different than the original album version, there is something so subtly charming and likable about this edit to me, that it is genuinely one of my absolute favorite Beatles recordings, dissenting opinions be damned. I love this tune and I have played it countless times and never grow tired of it.

It is a very simple song, but I don’t discriminate against simplicity. Some of my favorite Beatles songs to come are absolutely some of their most complex, but that doesn’t make this one any less likable or, quite frankly, impressive to me. The injection of humanity into this track from the outtakes definitely increases the humanity of it, the false start and John giggling. The simple execution of the music is great as well. I love Ringo’s simple drumming and claps with the tambourine, the bright guitar playing from George and John, and the lightly bouncing bass from Paul. John cries the vocals out with his usual strong character and the lyrics don’t bother me at all. They are a bit disconnected and far from being as poetic or cohesive or effective in eliciting emotion as plenty of other Beatles compositions, but it actually says a lot with a little. “It’s only love, and that is all.” The rest is more or less noise or inconsequential. It’s a release of emotions, and I connect with it.

I remember replaying this over and over in my headphones, lying in bed, sitting on a bus, staring into space, during some of my most frustrated and forlorn moments in love during my younger years. It holds the line center. It doesn’t depress, but it neither uplifts, it’s just what it is in its simplicity, and that is all.

I love the cooing howl of Lennon’s at the end and the strength of the guitar-playing to finish it off. It’s a satisfying little track that I enjoy very much.

I guess my fondness for this song is emblematic of the depth of my Beatles fandom and appreciation. While I certainly agree with the praise for their songs that are widely regarded as their greatest, I have a special place in my heart for a lot of their deep tracks as well, and even alternate takes. “Norwegian Wood (This Bird Has Flown)” and “The Fool on the Hill” are among some of the other tracks which I prefer on the Anthology albums. For that, I am glad they took the time to revisit all of these and release these to the public. Sometimes the turn of a dial on the mix can add something special, and for this song, it made it into one of my very favorites.



66971116_10213988202771366_940515082394140672_n.jpg

#418/420 - The Beatles, “I Am the Walrus”

(originally from 1967, “Hello, Goodbye/I Am the Walrus”)


The Beatles were far from a strict rock band, frequently experimenting and departing from genre conventions. On The White Album alone, for instance, there are so many styles explored it is difficult to even beginning listing them. However, there is one song above all in their catalog that I consider to be the most rock thing they ever did, and one of their best as well. While it does lean towards psychedelia, and does unconventionally feature brass instruments, strings, and woodwinds, nothing jams harder in The Beatles’ catalog than this track for me, and I view this as the best rock song John Lennon ever wrote.

There is a lot to love about this song. The sound is magnificent and I dig the fuzzy texture of it. Lennon transitions from a rock and roll wailer, influenced by many before him, to a prototypical rock singer, influencing countless vocalists to come. The orchestration adds a great fullness to the song, but The Beatles themselves really shine here. Ringo has some fantastic drumming, George rocks on guitar, and Paul underscores it all nicely. Ray Thomas and Mike Pinder of The Moody Blues also feature as guests on back-up vocals.

The lyrics are nonsensical, random, cryptic, and rich with material to dive into and ponder in what ways they connect and what they are supposed to mean together. “I am the eggman. They are the eggmen. I am the walrus.” Most overtly, it references Lewis Carroll’s Through the Looking Glass, specifically, The Walrus and the Carpenter, but it also draws from other poetry and literature, mashing it into a crazy combination of words. “Everybody smoke pot,” indeed. And maybe drop a little acid too.

Drug fueled or not though, the desire to make something different and wild and totally nuts led to some great music from The Beatles. It’s a period in music I really love and this track stands out as one of the best.



66950937_10214008198351243_7181493263772155904_n.jpg

#419/420 - The Beatles, “Strawberry Fields Forever”

(originally from 1967, “Strawberry Fields Forever/Penny Lane”)


This song is perhaps the best piece of psychedelic music ever created, and it is very nearly my favorite Beatles song, save for one. This song has been analyzed and broken down and lauded to such a high degree that I almost feel unworthy of giving my two cents for my lack of an ability to articulate to those levels what makes this song great, but beyond all of its innovations and technical achievements both musically and in engineering, this song is about a feeling that even a layman can appreciate. It is serene, it is strange, it is soothing, it is nostalgic, and it is a trip I love to take.

One of the elements that makes this such a full, rich, and sonically enjoyable piece of music is the diversity of instruments and sounds, and yet the restraint in employing them. It isn’t like all these instruments are overpoweringly incorporated, at times the sound is very minimal, but they are used to accent and build things in such a gentle way that they create adventure and unpredictability of listening in a very satisfying manner.

Things are backward, things are forward, things are up, things are down. George’s guitar, Paul’s piano, Ringo’s drums, they all jump out at times and fall back in others. John has some of his best lyrics here too. “Living is easy with eyes closed, misunderstanding all you see.” It’s as though he is a character in Alice in Wonderland himself. “I think a ‘no’, I mean a ‘yes’, but it’s all wrong. That is, I think I disagree.” I love the false ending and the way it stomps off and stomps back in, it is striking and wonderful. The music video is a lot of fun as well in its weirdness and playful arthouse feel.

On the thirtieth anniversary of John Lennon’s assassination, I was invited to travel with a friend to New York City to visit Strawberry Fields, a memorial to John in Central Park. It was bitterly cold and I was at a very low point, having just lost a close family friend and mentor unexpectedly the month before. Being so close to the site of the death of one of my childhood idols was almost too much to take. I never felt my own mortality so strongly and the state of existence and reality itself never felt colder to me. Being in Central Park among all of those people however, and seeing them gather all day and all night in such unforgiving temperatures, singing Beatles and other John Lennon songs together—getting to be a part of that, it was definitely something.

John Lennon is my favorite singer from my favorite band, and is perhaps my favorite musician of all, and songs like this are a tremendous reason why. And while I can certainly relate to lines like, “no one I think is in my tree,” in many facets of my life and parts of who I am, I do know, unequivocally, that when it comes to appreciating this music, the branches are outstretched unimaginably far with others who feel the same, and there is something very special about being to share in that feeling with so many others.



66094880_10213950228102023_5204018212487823360_n.jpg

#420/420 - The Beatles, “A Day in the Life”

(originally from 1967, Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band)


“A Day in the Life” is what I believe to be The Beatles’ masterpiece and it is one of my favorite songs of all time, from one of my three favorite albums of all time… (okay, we’ll call it my favorite of all) …and with that, as it closes Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band in epic fashion, so it closes and completes my list in, I can only hope, a sliver of the same way. So where do I begin to end?

For starters, while I think this is very clearly an absolutely fantastic, impressive, attention-grabbing, and beautiful song, it has been an interesting phenomenon in my life to have considered this my favorite Beatles song since I was a child, and then, as I grew older, witness various publications laud it as the best Beatles song as well. It is definitely a mixture of feeling, “hell yeah! my favorite won!” and also feeling like your favorite has been taken away from you. But as I stated in the previous entry, that is one of the very special things about The Beatles—being able to share that fondness and appreciation with such a far-reaching and wide array of people. It is actually a rare thing in my life to be in line with a majority opinion (if you know me at all, imagine that!), and so there is actually a nice amount of comfort in not having to really explain myself so much, a lot of people just understand, yeah, this song fucking rocks.

Before I ever smoked weed or tried any drugs, and before I ever read any music publications to influence my opinions, this was the first complete Beatles album I ever possessed, and this song blew me away right from the start. It was almost like my first experience with drugs before ever taking them. “Found my way upstairs and had a smoke, and somebody spoke and I went into a dream…” The section to follow this… with the ethereal “ahh”s, man, I can’t tell you how many times I rewinded this track and listened to that repeatedly. It was the coolest, most amazing thing I had ever heard in any song, and that it was surrounded with so many other extraordinary components, I just couldn’t get enough of this one.

I have talked about how the best Beatles moments were when John and Paul’s greatest sensibilities combined and this is the absolute shining, glowing example of that. It is the combination of an unfinished song by each that comes together to create one of the best songs ever. I don’t believe in meant-to-be, but goddamnit if this wasn’t meant to be, if those two were not meant to meet and form this band and make these songs and make this song in particular. And let me not understate the importance of George and Ringo and George Martin and all of their close collaborators and influences either, but the tour de force of the Lennon-McCartney songwriting team is one of the greatest things to ever happen to modern music. They were far from the most technical or classically trained or educated but they knew what sounded good, and they had the heart, drive, passion, and determination to bring dozens upon dozens of amazing compositions to life. I have never found an artist living or dead with such a deep catalog, and I don’t even include their solo careers when I say this. The Beatles on their own: their 200th best song is better than many artists’ best songs.

This song was a big production, done at what I consider to be The Beatles’ peak. They were all working together and they had all matured musically to a level that could produce a piece like this. It took over three times as long to record this single song than the entirety of their debut album, Please Please Me. The orchestra is impressive to say the least, but just like with “Strawberry Fields Forever” and any of their other great tracks to employ orchestration, it isn’t overused. It accents an already great band with four members. John on guitar, Paul on piano and bass, and Ringo and George on percussion, one of the rare instances where George sat back.

The ending chord is striking and triumphant and a surge of emotion. It is such a satisfying closure to this album, and I can’t hardly imagine placing it in any spot other than as the finale on any created playlist either. The way the sound is allowed to play out fully, and then the sudden interruption of the crazy-sounding loops of McCartney saying “never could be any other way” and Lennon’s “been so high”. I can’t count how many times I played this album before bed and drifted off to sleep at the end of this song only to be reawakened by that ending! It really startled me a number of times as a kid, but I love it. I love how creative and unique and challenging this song is. It’s an amazing piece.

When it comes to music, there’s really no replacing The Beatles in my life, and really, I don’t think there’s any replacing them, period. No artist is a total original, there’s no such thing, and The Beatles certainly drew from their predecessors and contemporaries on many occasions, but it was the way they brought those influences together and combined their own experiences and taste and sensibilities that made their music become a worldwide phenomenon that has well outlasted their time together as a band and influenced innumerable musicians to come. I believe The Beatles will be remembered from our time in a way that Shakespeare and Beethoven and Dickens are remembered in theirs, and deservedly so.

I am now 30 and it has been quite an experience over the past year+ reflecting on all the music that has surrounded me and meant something to me in those first thirty years. It has also been the backdrop to another 420 days worth of memories, and brought even new feelings and fondness for what these songs mean to me and where they take me when I hear them. Some times are rough, some times are beautiful, most times are both, but “in my life, I’ve loved them all.” And I love the music.

Thank you to everyone who participated and interacted with these posts, it has really meant a lot to me to share them with you and to have you share memories back, or even just give a thumbs up of approval on the song choice. I actually feel it has made a handful of you into closer friends by sharing this with you and I have valued that aspect of this.

I am looking forward to the next 30 years, which have already begun, and already brought some great new moments and experiences into my life, and who knows, maybe when I am approaching 60 I will start to formulate another list. I am sure if I did another one right now, I would already have a different order. 🙂

“Peace and love.” -Ringo



420 to 30: A Music Retrospective

60 Weeks to 30 Years-Old, with 420 Songs by 60 Different Artists

Week 1: Johnny Cash
Week 2: The Jackson 5/The Jacksons
Week 3: A Tribe Called Quest
Week 4: Weezer
Week 5: Bob Dylan
Week 6: Led Zeppelin
Week 7: 2Pac/Makaveli
Week 8: Billy Joel
Week 9: Electric Light Orchestra
Week 10: Elvis Presley
Week 11: Dr. Buzzard’s Original Savannah Band
Week 12: The Jimi Hendrix Experience
Week 13: Nirvana
Week 14: The Doors
Week 15: The Rolling Stones
Week 16: Gnarls Barkley
Week 17: Gábor Szabó
Week 18: Galaxie 500
Week 19: Simon & Garfunkel
Week 20: Gorillaz
Week 21: Ennio Morricone
Week 22: The Moody Blues
Week 23: Koji Kondo
Week 24: Rob Zombie/White Zombie
Week 25: Paul McCartney/Wings
Week 26: George Harrison
Week 27: Phil Spector
Week 28: John Lennon/Plastic Ono Band
Week 29: Public Enemy
Week 30: The Love Language
Week 31: Barry White
Week 32: Frank Sinatra
Week 33: David Bowie
Week 34: Queen
Week 35: The Offspring
Week 36: Louis Prima
Week 37: The Notorious B.I.G.
Week 38: Nancy Sinatra
Week 39: Stevie Wonder
Week 40: Roger Miller
Week 41: Röyksopp
Week 42: N.W.A
Week 43: Sly and the Family Stone
Week 44: Herb Alpert and the Tijuana Brass
Week 45: Supertramp
Week 46: "Weird Al" Yankovic
Week 47: The Kinks
Week 48: Eminem
Week 49: Mort Garson
Week 50: Foster the People
Week 51: Pink Floyd
Week 52: David Wise
Week 53: Sam Cooke
Week 54: Wu-Tang Clan
Week 55: The Beach Boys
Week 56: The Flaming Lips
Week 57: Marvin Gaye
Week 58: Radiohead
Week 59: Michael Jackson
Week 60: The Beatles

Bonus Week: "The Next 60" (Honorable Mentions)

FULL PLAYLIST ON SPOTIFY

View the full list of "420 Songs" here: https://tinyurl.com/y8fboudu (Google spreadsheet link)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63867.81
ETH 3135.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84