My Top 30 For Music Lovers!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #music7 years ago (edited)

I haven't written a review for anything in years. Mostly because, it seems when you express an opinion anymore, people just tell you to shut the hell up and mind your own opinion. Here on Steemit, it seems people are really chill with anything and join in on a conversation in a much more civil manner than Reddit or Facebook, so maybe this post will do well.


I'm a lover of music. I don't think I've ever gone a couple of hours without listening to some type of it.

Sometimes I smoke and paint to it. Sometimes I'm editing pictures. Sometimes I'm driving around look for things to take pictures of. Sometimes earworms are my best friends when the power gets shut off. Sometimes I feel like a nut...


....other times, I don't.


I know there are a lot of people out there like me. And I love every single one of them. If they don't listen to what I listen to, then they show me what they listen to, and then I start listening to that, then apply it to my daily life.


Here's a Top 30 list of bands and musicians I've been listening to a lot this past year. Including specific albums and songs.

In alphabetical order...


1: Angel Olsen - Album: My Woman - Song: Heart Shaped Face

2: Autolux - Album: Pussy's Dead - Song: Hamster Suite

3: Beach House - Album: Teen Dream - Song: Silver Soul (I was torn between so many songs for this one by the way)

4: Beck - Album: Guero - Song: Missing (This is the first song I ever listened to on my first LSD Trip)

5: Bohren & der Club of Gore - Album: Black Earth - Song: Midnight Black Earth

6: Can - Album: Ege Bamyasi - Song: Sing Swan Song

7: Cass McCombs - Album: Mangy Love - Song: Switch

8: Cotton Jones - Album: Paranoid Cocoon - Song: Up A Tree (Went This Heart I Have)

9: Crystal Castles - Album: Amnesty (I) - Song: Char

10: David Bowie - Album: Blackstar - Song: I Can't Give Everything Away

11: DIIV - Album: Is The Is Are - Song: Dopamine

12: Fantastic Negrito - Album: The Last Days of Oakland - Song: Working Poor

13: Fiona Apple - Album: The Idler Wheel - Song: Every Single Night

14: Frightened Rabbit - Album: Painting of a Panic Attack - Song: I Wish I Was Sober

15: Future Islands - Album: In Evening Air - Song: Inch of Dust

16: Jason Isbell - Album: Southeastern - Song: Relatively Easy

17: Jim James - Album: Eternally Even - Song: Same Old Lie

18: Kevin Morby - Album: Singing Saw - Song: Singing Saw

19: Lera Lynn - Album: Resistor - Song: What You Done

20: Leonard Cohen - Album: You Want It Darker - Song: Traveling Light

21: Little Dragon - Album: Machine Dreams - Song: Feather

22: Mimicking Birds - Album: Mimicking Birds - Song: Pixels

23: Modest Mouse - Album - Strangers To Ourselves - Song: The Ground Walks, With Time In A Box

24: Radiohead - Album: A Moon Shaped Pool - Song: The Numbers

25: Sharon Van Etten - Album: Are We There - Song: Tarifa 

26: Tame Impala - Album: Currents - Song: Reality In Motion

27: The Knife - Album: Shaking The Habitual - Song: Raging Lung

28: The Veils - Album: Total Depravity - Song: House of Spirits

29: Todd Terje - Album: It's Album Time - Song: Inspector Norse

30: Tom Waits - Album: Rain Dogs - Song: Gun Street Girl



Hope y'all liked my list. Give me some feedback! Spark up a conversation about music with me! Share your favorites!


Sort:  

Classic Hits! Might Consider posting my favourite Music

I'd like to see what you've got!

Angel Olsen <3 I can't stop watching her on youtube tiny desk :)

I can't get over her voice. It's so. damn. GOOD!

Yeah she definitely has, So sad I never got to watch her at Glastonbury.

in case anyone wanted to watch Angel Olsen live. Well well worth watching <3

Ugh. LOVELOVELOVE!

She's got a really modern Nancy Sinatra sound to her.

Feeling kinda dumb for not putting LCD Soundsystem on this list. Oh well. Next music post ^_^

I think linking them to YouTube will be useful, no?

Really good point. I wanted to post this before midnight though, so I didn't really have the time :-/. Like I said, there's always next time. Trial and error to see how well this goes for now. Thanks for the suggestion though!

What a fantastic list. I picked the first one and I am listening at the moment.

So much to learn!

#16! Jason Isbell is my current favorite artist for like the last 2 years. His songwriting is out of this world, but yet so completely grounded in the everyday life of the common man. I dig on quite a few of these artists, the rest I will give a first listen to in time.

He's amazing. Did you get a chance to listen to the new album with his band The 400 Unit?

I have! 90% of it are instant favorites. I actually had the chance to see him live in Springfield, MO a while back with the 400 unit. It was an AMAZING show - like on a spiritual level.

Ugh! So Jealous!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44