SEARCHING FOR DEAD SINGER (SIXTO RODRÍGUEZ)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #music7 years ago (edited)

SEARCHING FOR SUGAR MAN


I confess that the name seemed familiar to me, but perhaps because of the similarity with some rock singer or some troubadour. The truth is that I do not think I've heard from him before ... What's more, I don´t think even past generations ever heard of this ARTIST. I put his name in capital letters because the title is accurate. In comparison with others who call themselves this way, only because they are known characters even though their artistic qualities are few or none, Sixto never won such a title.

It was my friend @otitrader who told me about him for the first time and the description he gave me about the strength of his musical speech, his life and his roots; Made me interested in this search.
The first thing I heard of his music, which he referred me to decades ago, to the generation of what was called in Mexico back in the 80's "rock rupestre", but I doubt that any mexican singer has heard from this singer In those years. His songs were familiar to me, their sound and lyrics, but I also doubt that I have ever heard anything about him ...
The lyrics of "I wonder" with its insistent questions: How many times you´ve been had ?, How many plans have gone bad?, and I wonder about the loneliness that´s mine, how much going have you got about your friends that are not? ... Or the same Sugar man who questions: "Won´t ya hurry? ... Coz I´m tired of these scenes ... for a blue coin wont ya bring back all those colors to my dreams? ... This made me immediately connected with him and the search for his story.

The truth is that it has been one of my best finds in popular music ... No one knows for sure what was what prevented Sixto Rodriguez from achieving fame. Perhaps its Latin origin, its conviction of the meaning of the word artist, or perhaps, that its physical appearance did not fit in the stereotype of the rock star. Those who knew him in his time, say (and agree with them) that lyric and musically is superior to Dylan. A whole village fell at their feet and took their music as a flag to fight against apartheid in South Africa. Those were times of change in society worldwide. Urban legends told that he had immolated himself by setting himself on fire in full concert. Others said that after the crowd booed him in a rotten bar, he took the gun and shot himself in the head.
What follows after having had the fortune of having known part of its collection, is a story that still does not end. Now there is a documentary of his life and his lost work to rescue him from oblivion.
My special thanks to @otitrader for sharing this story and its depth ...

@Jorgebit
firma steemit.png
DQmRhDtjokAZnGKi4QwheqksKTFo6m4fsjMYsNNrsitC1xk.gif

Sort:  

Madree! Q nivel

It's a story that has everything

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Jorgestrada from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

tiene un airesito a musica beatles...una historia increible impresionante y misteriosa

Hooo este artista es bueno

Is special this song

is special this song

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58994.66
ETH 2596.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43