Composing Music in a Tornado?!

in #music7 years ago

Last year I had a job as a security guard. It was pretty laid back, not much activity and the cameras didn't even work. So rather than fall asleep on every shift, I would bring in my entire music studio rig and make tracks. I recorded two full albums and 40+ minutes of a filmscore at my day job. Loophole in the system, you could call it. I recorded in rain, heat waves, blizzards, even hail. And the time I saw a tornado forming not too far away from me.

On this particular day, I was working on a song for a filmscore to an upcoming Australian action comedy flick. This song was really intense. (It's for a car chase scene.) As I got about two or three hours into the track, a storm front rolled right over my security booth. So I decided to take some video, they menacing clouds went perfect with the dark music I was making. When I turned around to get more footage I happened to notice a funnel cloud struggling to make touchdown.

Thankfully it never fully formed. The place I was "guarding" was a car lot with thousands of brand new vehicles which got shipped in via train. A tornado ripping through that place would have been like a scene from a Michael Bay movie. (If it was strong enough to whip around cars, at least.)

To check out another two songs from the same filmscore, check out the links below.

"Wheels Investigating"
https://musicoin.org/track/0x6d8c3f9bf1676ee2e9072ab200e17f129d1e87be

"Infiltrate"
https://musicoin.org/track/0x5b6dd6293de2de20409e0be00d5ecdd0101d55f9

Have you ever composed music during a tornado? Hurricane? Blizzard? Come to think of it, I performed at a music festival in upstate NY during a hurricane 5 - 10 years ago.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57560.27
ETH 2570.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48