Todays Pick Out of my Collection: Post One

in #music8 years ago (edited)

 Hello music community of Steemit! Im Brayden, and I am a newly recording musician, memorabilia collector and record collector. I recieved a scholarship for drumming out of highschool (which I regrettably declined in persuit of my electrical career), and i have been lending my talents on the guitar and the piano to a few very talented ladies (1st video currently in editing stages). In an effort to improve my blogging, I have decided to grab 5 albums to which I find essential to my collection and write up a short blog about them, one a day for 5 days, and hopefully you all have any similar band suggestions and stories for the comments, a kind upvote, or maybe will go out and purchase some of these bands work. Anyway, lets get started.

Album 1: Reinventing Axl Rose by Against Me!


a

I first saw Against Me! live maybe 6 years ago. They had just released the album White Crosses, and they had big hits with 'I was a Teenage Anarchist' and 'Thrash Unreal'. I remember being in the pit, and everyone kept chanting this album title, so they played 'We Laugh at Danger and Break all the Rules', and it blew me away. The energy was so raw, more than any other show ive been to (which is alot). Immediately after the show I Went and bought the record and its been on repeat ever since. Linking music to memories, this is the album I played, through my phone speaker, when I was driving a 1971 El Camino (which i had drunkinly bought the night before) 3hrs home in an Alberta winter. I have since seen them 2 more times and each show always begins or ends with 2 or 3 songs off this album. There are also a few songs featured on their most recent release, a live album called '23 Live Sex Acts'. This is a staple for any punk fans collection. 

Noteable songs: Pints of Guiness make you Stronger, We Laugh atDanger and Break all the Rules, Baby im an Anarchist!, and Walking is Still Honest

Genre: Punk, folk punk, political


Sort:  

This was a great album, particularly Pints Of Guinness Will Make You Strong & Reinventing Axl Rose. Unfortunately, the band lost sight of it its original core values and went to shit immediately after this.

I agree to an extent, as I appreciate the band and the steps theyve made into more mainstream, but you are right in that this is something that really stands out in their body of work

+1 for Against Me! Great record.

@dtbahoney, please read again as the review was not posted due to a server issue. Thanks again!

Awesome, thanks! Even better now!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59244.49
ETH 2977.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77