My Music Career`

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemit

Now that I am in the film world, a lot of people have no clue that I have a history with music as well as STILL do work in the music industry. Let me fill you in....

The year is 2010.... I had been playing acoustic guitar and piano for a few years as a solo act. I sucked at singing but I could write music. While scrolling the music classifieds for a band I came across an ad for two guys looking for a dedicated singer. They each had bachelors degrees in Business Entertainment & Audio Engineering. I met up with them and it was fate! We started 38 Caliber Hero. We hunted down a drummer and started playing shows.

We Decided to fly to Seattle and work with out favorite producer at the time. Casey Bates. Casey had worked on albums from bands we loved such as Panic at the Disco, Pierce the veil, and Portugal! The man. It was my first experience with anyone who ever did work for a record label. I learned a ton in that week of recording. We came back from seattle fully loaded and played shows for a year later releasing a full length album along with a music video. We had some local success including opening up for various nationals at the time Check out our video here:

To make a long story short, that band broke up and I started a second band called KARMA POINTS

This band was very important to my career. It was put together for business and the soul intention of making money from original music. We went straight for commercial marketing tactics and wrote music made for a more general audience than my pop punk band before.

While playing a show one night for a small audience, I decided I was going to meet everyone in the room. While walking around shaking hands I met a shady older gentlemen sitting on the wall. He handed me his card. I called the next day and we chatted. I later found out that he is a scout from Warner Brothers and Hollywood Records. He did a ton of work in the industry including management for NSync at one point. The man was brilliant and opened a ton of doors for me. He put me in the rooms with those I need to be in a room with to make a career for music.


Weeman from the hit show Jackass holding up one of my albums.


Two of the girls from the group Fifth Harmony


The rapper Ab Soul

Through my networking ventures I ended up joining a second band by the name A Midnight In Chicago.


Through some tragic circumstances I played bass for my friends in this band. They were on a huge swing when I joined so we basically were already playing for hundreds every time we played. I jumped in at the right time. A few weeks of playing with them and we got a call from the Vans Warped Tour. They were asking us to play. WE SAID OF COURSE!!!!

here is some video from that:

During all of this I started a few entertainment companies. I was putting on shows, mangeing artists and tours, and Playing music at the same time.


Performing at Fitzgeralds

Performing at Scout bar.

Hanging with Dave :)

I still play music in a solo project and I definitely still do work as a music producer as well as personal manager for a few Houston artists. I have since moved my interests toward film. Creating projects that are educational and I have never been more happy. I left out a ton of details within all of this... but... that was a quick run down of my history with music. I hope you enjoyed. Love you guys! Stay awesome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66902.20
ETH 3248.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64