Learn to play guitar(Series Part 6) Eagles - Hotel Calfiornia

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemians!

I Hope all is well today. Welcome to the 6th episode of "Learn to play guitar" an on going series exclusively on Steemit.

Today I picked another classic! I know I know, Why all the classics? Well a lot of these songs developed the foundation for a ton of the songs we listen to today. Learn these songs and you can do a lot. They are quite beneficial and are good for you to become the life of the party. You will have a lot of people singing along with todays song!

Eagles - Hotel California. Level: Intermediate

First off lets take a listen to the original track. Pay close attention to the strumming patterns on the rhythem and the lead. If you plan on singing this song be ready for some fun, this is not an easy task but it creates a good sing along.
Lets take a listen:

After listening a few times you can get a feel for the first and second guitar parts. I personally play this song solo... all by myself with an acoustic guitar. So I have to make changes here and there but I make it work... with that being said lets take a look at some tabs! (If you do not know how to read tabs or chord charts refer to this awesome guide. It will help you out! Guide: https://www.justinguitar.com/en/BC-108-TABandBoxes.php )
For those who can read tabs and chord charts lets take a look at the tabs themselves here:
Tabs:
https://tabs.ultimate-guitar.com/e/eagles/hotel_california_crd.htm

Getting a good feel for those bar chords its going to be the most difficult part.. but with some practice you should have this down in no time. This is definitely a good duet to play with a friend. Which is exactly what we will take a look at next. Take a close look at the strumming patterns and how the chords and leads are played. If you plan to sing the best advice I can give is that practice makes perfect.
Take a look:

For those expert players who want to learn the solo take a close look at this clip :

....with practice and persistence you will achieve your goals.

This is an ongoing series! I hope you enjoyed it! Please slap an upvote on it and follow me for more!

Check out previous parts to this series here:


https://steemit.com/music/@johnroomusic/learn-to-play-guitar-series-part-1-pup-sleep-in-the-heat

https://steemit.com/music/@johnroomusic/learn-to-play-guitar-series-part-2-led-zeppelin-stairway-to-heaven

https://steemit.com/music/@johnroomusic/learn-to-play-guitar-series-part-3-bob-dylan-knockin-on-heavens-door

https://steemit.com/music/@johnroomusic/learn-to-play-guitar-series-part-4-bob-marley-redemption-song

https://steemit.com/music/@johnroomusic/learn-to-play-guitar-series-part-5-sam-smith-stay-with-me

Sort:  

Nice track; Do you play guitar yourself?

I do. I have been playing for about 10 years. How about you?

Is that you playing the guitar in the second video?
I'm not a musician myself, just a music fan :)

Good lessons indeed @johnroomusic ! But you should get those videos on dTube and your tunes on Musicoin! :-D FYI: Below's an article with some detailed insights about Musicoin's UBI initiative.

Musicoin UBI Disclosure!

I would feel bad for freebooting the videos. For example this song. The Eagles. They still get paid through ad revenue from you watching this tutorial, simply because the video is embedded. If there was a way I could grant them the royalties on dtube I would happily use it for this type of stuff. What are your thoughts?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62915.59
ETH 2542.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63