MandaBrat – Summer Rain – Single Review

in #music6 years ago

When I first clicked the link to “Summer Rain” by MandaBrat, I honestly thought I had clicked on a house music track from my own collection. I thought, “What did I do?”, then realized I had clicked the right track and got a little excited.
Why? Because I spent many years of my mid-20s in Chicago’s underground house music scene. Lego, Felix Da Housecat, DJ Sneak (who’s cousin I’m close friends with) were just a few I followed in the scene…so when “Summer Rain” started playing, I became instantly nostalgic.

This track sounds exactly like something I would hear a Chicago house music DJ spin. MandaBrat’s Frankie Knuckles influence definitely shows, and I have to say it’s mixed very well. All levels are where they need to be to switch focus on the emphasis of the changes in the track. I immediately noticed the bongo/congo drums and how they stand out, yet don’t overpower. They carry the beat as they should; smooth as silk.

The bass line comes in, with a hint of organ synths, and again I’m having fanboy flashbacks of sitting with my friends at Red No. 5 in Chicago, hearing smooth beats and chillaxin’. They carry the song for a bit until the next layer comes in, which is this quantized rattle and occasional cymbal build-up, placed just in the right place to keep things interesting. Throw in some echoed harder bongos as the main beat subsides a bit to bring us to the main melody of smooth jazz sax loops with a hint of those synths again, which almost sound like a mix of muted guitar and vibraphone mixed with some organ. I’m diggin’ it, for sure.

READ MORE

PROMOTE YOUR MUSIC NOW

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by JoeJoeKeys from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63459.73
ETH 2599.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78