You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Benjamin Britten's War Requiem performed in Johannesburg last night

in #music6 years ago

What an exceptional article, emotionally charged music to make one think, your words make it tangible @kiligirl

Raised in a family, attending parades all my life, this sends shivers up the spine to think of honoring people who put their lives on the line, to ensure better living for those to follow. (Sadly humans never learn.)

My father and his brothers served throughout WW11 in North Africa and Italy, their sister also was in uniform in a typist pool during the war years. Born from 1905 to 1911, my Dad the youngest, all came home. A cousin of my Mom lost his life in Italy, my parents visited his grave in the late 1970's.

If I had sat through an orchestra with choir I would have cried, beauty in song, emotional ties to events, not mentioning my grand-parents who also took up arms when called upon, yes it would have been a night to remember!

Sort:  

I think you would have really enjoyed this performance, @joanstewart. I can only imagine what it was like growing up with those who were in active service. I'm happy for you and yours that at least your brothers all came home. Sad that any young person has lost their life, even in the supposedly noble cause of defending freedom. Thank you so much for your kind comments...I really appreciate it, as I felt I hadn't done the performance justice with my post. You've given me a much-needed boost 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60318.52
ETH 2983.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78