Original song "Alice, Wake Up" and some reflections on Wonderland

in #music8 years ago (edited)

I had the opportunity to write a new song for a local songwriters' showcase called Wild Bob's Musical Book Club, and the way the showcase works, is a book is picked each month and 10-12 local songwriters are tasked with creating a song inspired by the month's selection. My first invitation to Wild Bob's, we tackled "Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass," which has been a topic of fascination me since I was first captivated by Disney's interpretation of the Lewis Carroll classic.

There were periods of time in my life where I watched that movie just about every day, and I can still almost recite the whole thing from the beginning. 

My fascination of this story was never the whimsy, however it has been Alice's seemingly inability to "wake up" from a situation she can tell in her head repeatedly cannot be true. It feels true, it looks true, but there is no way it can be true. Finally, as she acquiesces to her final fate by the hand of the Red Queen and her minions, she realizes that she was sleeping the entire time, and she frantically tries to pull herself out of an awful dream. I think that's a feeling many of us can relate to.  I know I do. 


Life is so much about perspective, and many times when we feel we are given a challenge so great that there is no way to conquer, that's the precise time to wake up and act. Be present. Change the perspective and you change the outcome. "It's time to wake up..."

Lyrics:

they're talking so crazy/and acting so shady/I am not sure where I am/I tell myself this path isn't right/I tell myself to take the road that leads softly to the right/but my feet go left/where am I going?/where have I been?/I thought that I was ready for adventure/ but I'm ready for this rabbit hole to end/wake up, alice/alice, wake up/alice, it's time to wake up

Sort:  

I find the biggest challenge, at my stage in life, is to stay awake once I get there. It is too easy to be sucked back into the problems presented in the "real world" and forget what's important.

@markmorrisjr I feel that is very difficult to be awake in the current moment regardless of stage of life. We spend so much time thinking about what hascome before and what is to come in the future, that the present, the only thing we truly experience, is many times completely forgotten. I'm working on being active in the present moment and to not forget what is important.

I'm with you, there. I have a similar fascination with Carrol's work, by the way, I used some in my sci-fi, as derivative, not rewrite.

Wow, great song, you sing it like you mean it!
Which is probably because you do.

@kooshikoo Thank you very much! I hope you follow along for more music and stories. All my music comes from the pit of my being. Thank you for seeing that. Sincerely.

Just wanted to let you know that your song could get some votes in Steemit Most Wanted (Voted) Original Music playlist we started today. We want you to get the votes so we recommend you to post the link of your video in the reply zone of our post. Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63267.39
ETH 2572.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80