Song Obsessions in 2017 (part I)

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Every once in a while we get a song we can't stop listening to on repeat. That song becomes the mood setter for the day(s) ahead and it holds an almost neuro-lingustic programming power  to it. Therefore, having a look at what I obsessed over in 2017 is basically gonna tell me how I bummed myself out for another year.

1. The Associates - Club Country

Cheesy Scottish synthpop, I remember particularly enjoying this due to its lyrics criticizing shallowness. Although it surely seems tamer at first glance, it became my 'fuck them all' anthem.

2. Jeru The Damaja - Come Clean

It's hard to find old school rap songs that really resist the test of time and this one is one of those that do. I repeated it like a mantra for days.

3. Delia - Verde imparat

I enjoy pop music that other people hate and this is proof of it. Must have been the colorful video that also got me into it. The song was short too, so it definitely required repeating.

4. Protomartyr - A Private Understanding

A tensed masterpiece with some striking spoken word over it. This is what you'd want from post-punk in 2017. 

5. Carla Thomas - B-A-B-Y

I saw this in the 'Baby Driver' movie and it stuck with me. You don't even need to be in love to appreciate this.

6. Ween - Where'd The Cheese Go?

Can you believe this song was refused by Pizza Hut? Either way, I would go on repeating 'where'd the cheese go' everywhere I went and that sometimes became odd, I must admit.

 

7. Oneohtrix Point Never - The Pure and the Damned ft. Iggy Pop

Possibly the most important obsession of the year. This electro-ballad featuring a rock star I otherwise never was a fan of was the only thing I listened to for a while. Learned about the song from the movie 'Good Time'. Even my dog howls to the electronic solo in the middle of this song. 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68854.36
ETH 3283.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67