The Sound Of Silence. Original Vs Cover.

in #music6 years ago

For the one or two of you who are avidly following my newest posting passion I bring to you the next round of Original Vs Cover.

From a strictly purist standpoint the original artist will always come in with the win. They wrote the song for crying out loud. It was their musical genius that put the song out into the universe to begin with.

With that being said, the artist who remakes or covers the original song brings their own unique flavor to the song. In most cases they are also introducing a great song to a whole new generation.

I have had conversations with people who think re-makes should never be done. I couldn't disagree more. Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery.

Todays battle pits the songwriting master duo of Simon and Garfunkel (HAIR!) against the rock powerhouse Disturbed.

The original song written by Simon and Garfunkle is a timeless classic. Both somber and melancholy this song is packed full of emotion.

Ducking the punch and throwing a right cross Disturbed comes in with a version which highlights the vocals of lead singer David Draiman and can only be described as "haunting".

The first time I heard the Disturbed version and had it blasting in my car I got chills. For this, my vote goes to: Disturbed.

Honorable mention: Best 'fro goes to Art Garfunkle.

Which is your favorite version and why?

#originalvscover

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63608.16
ETH 2621.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77