Open Sorcerer - Mutant Dance :: original music + video from Oakland, CA based avant jazz trio

in #music7 years ago

Ever feel like a mutant?

Like, outcasted by the powerful ones, for reasons beyond your control, because of the body you were born into, or the way your mind works, or how you express yourself. Just because your existence threatens their idea of "normal."

I've felt that a lot, especially when I was a teenager, mostly for how my mind works, and the things I feel to be important, and sometimes I still do feel like a mutant. It's a shitty feeling, not being accepted. Nobody deserves that.

But there's power in being a mutant, too. You realize that you get to be yourself, regardless of other peoples' judgments of you. That's liberation. Maintaining that in the face of the constant barrage of normy nonsense can be a real struggle, one that far too many people don't recover from.

This song is for all the mutants, and most especially those who have it the hardest. I particularly want to honor trans folks, neurodivergent people, disabled people and the close friends who have shared their experiences of being born into bodies and minds that they are constantly told are "wrong." You are beautiful, people. Not in spite of the ways you are different, but because of them. And I will never stop working for a world that recognizes that.

Played by my band, Open Sorcerer, and videoed by the amazing Mer of the Republic of Light. You can download our music for free if you like.

Open Sorcerer
Dylan Jennings - baritone saxophone
William Renauld - drums
Jared Wood - keyboards

Paintings by: Yusuf Ssali, Kaspa Kasambeko, Mathias Tusiime, Carol Nakizito, James Nsamba, Hassan Mukiibi, and Charles Mbaziira of the Uganda Art Consortium

Sort:  

Mutants unite! Nice session!

YES! Uncanny .gif choice, @julakponsford ... we do a cover of the classic Twin Peaks song too.

(^o^) link? Is it on steemit? I love that soundtrack! Have you seen this?


So fun hearing him talk about the Collab...

Thanks for sharing the video! So good.

Linked above an old recording of our cover on soundcloud, under our old band name "shrdrbrdr" (lol) ... here again: https://soundcloud.com/user-689323406/twin-peaks-theme ...

I'm listening right now. You guys remind me a bit of bohren club de gore (?) who I love!

I love that video of Angelo. It's so nice to hear musicians talk about their process. Unfortunately I have a head time articulating my own, :/

Ooh, I wasn't familiar with bohren club de gore. It's always interesting to hear who you remind people of.

I feel you about articulating musical process, it's not easy to put into words for me either. Sometimes songs with words come to me with full(ish) concepts, but mostly when I write instrumental music, I have no fully fledged idea, and no idea where it's going to go. That's kind of the magic that draws me into it, especially as someone who writes for improvisers too... There's a kind of magic in not being able to explain it even if I do have a methodology, if that makes sense.

Bohren is like Slo Mo jazz, very chill! I almost never compose my music in advance. I just improve a bit and see what kind of melodies come out and use that as a base. Then the rest follows organically.

Love the breakdown after the opening. That mid part thought. Felt like some indian jazz somewhere in there haha! Nice stuff man. Cheers!

Congratulations @jaredwood! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of comments received
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64308.31
ETH 2810.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65