Why EVERYONE should at least have a go at learning an instrument

in #music7 years ago

Studies show that listening to and playing music is incredibly good for not only the brain but for a person physically as well. I believe that learning an instrument changes a person, so let's get into all of the reasons as to why I believe this:

Playing an instrument reduces stress and this has been trialled and tested by yours truly. As a student I often find myself worrying over exams and getting stressed over money and there is noting better than sitting down with my guitar or at my piano, and letting off some steam for a good half an hour or so, and god does it make you feel good afterwards!

Playing an instrument improves your social life in many ways, if you can play guitar, trust me there will be times at parties when someone will get a cheap acoustic guitar out and ask for someone who can play Wonderwall by Oasis. Don't ask why because I couldn't tell you but this will always be the song that people ask for. And without you even volunteering, one of your mates will say you can do it, and before you know it all eyes are on you and you are playing to a large group of people. Now this is only one scenario of many things that can happen, but sometimes you get put on the spot, and its nerve-wracking, but it's also great for your social life, as people will remember you.

Playing an instrument improves patience which will help you out further on in life. Patience is a skill that many do not possess, which is a big down fall as without patience you can miss out on opportunities just because you didn't wait around until the right thing happened! When learning an instrument it takes time, months, years, to be able to play that one song that made you want to start playing guitar, but once you can play it, all of the hard work and patience pays off!

Playing an instrument improves memory as you will be remembering whole songs, and lots of them. Most instruments like guitar, drums, vocals, etc. require you to perform lots of songs without any sheet music, therefore your memory is needed! It is crazy how good your memory can become just by learning an instrument.

Playing an instrument is fun and it adds to your life. I mean, being able to say you are a guitarist, a pianist, a singer, a djembe player, it makes you feel good. It is a life skill that takes a lot of hard work and dedication but it all really pays off and I promise it will make something out of you!

Hopefully some of these will persuade any non-musicians out there to try an instrument, just give it a go!!

JP

If you like this, or are interested in hearing more, give me a follow @jamespearce

Sort:  

I agree, playing an instrument is a lot of fun and it's good for you too.

What's funny is that I always wanted to learn to play the drums, but I was afraid I wouldn't be good at it so I didn't do it. Every time I tried I thought "oh I suck at this" and then I quit again. Then I finally realized I shouldn't try to be good, I should just try to have fun. So now I drum for myself, not for others. No idea if I'm any good at it, but I don't care anymore. I just enjoy myself :)

I think that's great!! It's always hard at first, but it's great that you drum for yourself :) you probably are good, and no matter your skill level as long as you are having fun then who cares!! Enjoy it! I've given you a follow, thanks for replying to my post :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59999.40
ETH 2646.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44