You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What are you listening to? - Music Appreciation Thread - Steem version

in #music7 years ago

Lately, I've been attracted to music with a lot of "layers" of instruments/ beats. To me, this type of music is more visceral.

At the moment, I don't care so much to hear a message in words/ lyrics, which speaks mostly to my intellect and may awaken visual memories. I'd rather feel something deeper that speaks to my unconscious mind and awakens "unspeakable" or "inexpressible" feelings/ insights, as I've recently made it more of a goal to understand the depths of myself (my own psychology).

I get a "conscious expanding" sense from listening to some of Phaeleh's work. The following is an example:

I'll admit that the lyrics are annoyingly repetitive and I don't particularly find much value in the words. Where I do find value is in focusing on the undertones within the piece, such as the repeating piano notes.

I don't know exactly why, but it seems like focusing on a single note allows the layers that play over-top of it to "loosen" up my emotions, as if the rhythm is "carrying" my "sedated consciousness" through "crevasses" in my mind and body that clears out "stuck energy" (for instance, emotional attachments to various types of memories), allowing it to surface for maybe the first time in years or even decades!

I experience a lot of tactile, audio, and olfactory memories when I listen in this way, as opposed to the usual visual memories and awakening of visual imagination that I typically get from focusing on lyrics. More importantly, I have many moments of feeling like I've regained important self-knowledge that was somehow forgotten or hidden (suppressed), when I focus on the undertones -- this makes sense to me, since the focus required to attend to that side of the music brings me to a meditative state of mind, where insight should be most expected.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64561.21
ETH 3418.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57