Music On The Go! - A Short Mini-Project, Part 2

in #music7 years ago

20170813_161643.jpg

So August 14 was my first day of Music On The Go, and it actually went the way I thought it would. It wasn't bad, and it wasn't good either. There was a slight problem with the engine in one of our cars that we took (we took 2, one for mom and dad, and one for me and my brother) so we started our drive a few hours late. Because of this, we weren't able to stop by any of the destinations that we intended to stop by and we just drove mostly straight to Virginia. But I was able to get some pictures of my journey and a bit of music as well.
20170814_135131.jpg
We stopped by a rest area to take a small break and to use the restrooms. There was a small bridge scenery at the rest stop so I thought this would be a good place for my first snapshots. I played a bit of trumpet excerpts from Gershwin's "An American to Paris" however, the file got corrupted, so all you can see right now is some photos of me playing the trumpet.
20170814_112653.jpg
20170814_112707.jpg
20170814_112702.jpg
![20170814_112741.jpg]20170814_112741.jpg

This video was taken in my car with my brother. There was some heavy traffic on the road and all the cars were driving slow, so I decided to take out my trumpet and start playing some fanfares just to liven up the place. Some of the cars were annoyed, but many of the trucks and family cars that were there were laughing and cheering. I can't say if that was good or not, but it definitely made someone's day.

By the time we got to our destination, it was already 7pm. So we decided to do everything else tomorrow. Because of this, I was only able to videotape me conducting Gustav Holst's "First Suite in Eb", the first movement "Chaccone". Quick History lesson, this was the very first composition written for the wind band medium in music literature and it started the next generation of instrumental music. Holst's suite became the cornerstone for wind band and it is highly recommended at many high school level concert bands.

Unfortunately again, IMovie for some reason can't upload my video of my conducting. So I can't show that either. Gah! But that shouldn't stop this post from sharing good band music. So here's a recording of Gustav Holst's "First Suite in Eb", the first movement "Chaccone".

Here are some other pictures from last Monday.
20170814_135135.jpg
20170814_113644.jpg

Unfortunately, because I had to help my brother with decorating his apartment with furnishers, I had absolutely no time to do this project. With that in mind, I've come to the realization that this might be a bad time to continue the project. So unless I get time, I will have to postpone this project. But this is not the last time I post on "Music On The Go". One day, I will return to this project, I promise!

Thanks for reading and listening! If you like what you hear and see, please let me know in the comments below! Also, please upvote if you like it! I'm currently using the steemit platform as a side-way to making money for my college expenses! Thank you so much!
~ Joshua A. I.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62276.80
ETH 3005.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62