Grammys 2018: Good or Bad?

in #music7 years ago

Last Night the 60th Grammy Awards took place at the Madison Square Garden, as a latino, I was pretty excited because even though Despacito didn't win, it did make history, so we just keep the satisfaction that first, a latina woman finally got nominated in the Song of the Year category, Despacito was the only song nominated in both Song and Record of the Year, and the last time a song in a foreign language was nominated in both categories was 30 years ago when La Bamba hit every corner of the world.

The performances were mostly good, Kesha didn't really made me feel anything, I don't know if it's because I don't like her voice, I thought with this whole Time's Up campaign she was going to sing Woman (Which fitted PERFECTLY) but instead she sang Praying and once again brought back this Dr. Luke issue that honestly at this point looks like she's just trying to create hype.

As a Lady Gaga fan, of course I knew I would like the ceremony even before it started, and though I did like her performance, it wasn't my favorite, I saw some intensity in her that I didn't find normal, I felt like she was concerned about something or maybe she just decided to make it pretty intense, plus, I thought the Joanne era was over, but I really enjoyed her performance.

Kendrick Lamar was pretty amazing, I'm not a rap fan but since the VMAs he earned my respect, and this performance was no difference, always offering something meaningful. Despacito of course brought the Latino Heat to the stage, and I hope we get to see more often Latinos performing there, with these remixes that have been released, I think it's very likely to happen.

My sure bets definitely didn't disappoint, and those were my favorite 2 performances, Bruno Mars with Cardi B (they offered such a different energy when it comes to what we are used to enjoy at the grammys) the stage, his dance moves, Cardi, everything was amazing. And my favorite by far, DJ Khaled with Rihanna & Bryson Tiller, Rihanna really loves doing her thing and she showed it yesterday, the lights, the dancers, when I saw that performance I knew I already had my favorite of the night.

There are other performances to bring out such as Logic with Alessia Cara & Khalid, P!nk, Childish Gambino, Little Big Town and SZA, but I don't want to make it too long even though I think I already did lol. The main categories got me disappointed, I was happy only for Alessia, she's worked so hard to be right where she is, and there's a bright future for her in the music industry; but I don't think That's What I Like deserved song of the year, 1-800-273-8255 was just even more meaningful; 24k Magic record of the year omg, of course as a Latino I wanted despacito to win LOL, and if that wasn't enough, he took home Albm of the Year too, which just wasn't right, I love Bruno Mars, but I don't think 24k Magic was a good album, but hey, that's showbiz, saying whether the Grammys were god or bad it's up to you haha, so leave your opinions!

Sort:  

Congratulations @jafz04! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @jafz04! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60340.70
ETH 2597.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53