Worst love songs ever?

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Valentine's Day is here now, so hopefully we will see the deluge of bad love songs dissipate somewhat from the FM airwaves. Superficial sentiments, cheesy lyrics, and overwrought vocals need to go away and never come back. Of course, new songs always pop up, and most are quickly forgotten, but some seem to somehow have infested the song rotation on radio stations for a long time. Some of the worst offenders are embedded below, and I apologize:

When A Man Loves A Woman, Michael Bolton


When a man loves a woman,
he sings like she kicked his balls,
for spewing bullshit that no one believes...

For the record, any other song by Michael Bolton is also awful, in case that isn't already common knowledge. This is just the worst of the bunch, and it plays most on the radio around this time of year.

Every Breath You Take, The Police


I'm sure I'm not the first to point out that this is a stalker's anthem, not a romantic expression of affection.

My Heart Will Go On, Celine Dion


I'm singing loud, my voice rises high,
But my lyrics are empty and vain.
Once more, they soar, intensely I roar
Yet substance is missing, it's plain.

Your Body Is a Wonderland, John Mayer


Superficial lust is romantic, right? No. Also, every aspect of this song objectively sucks, and if you disagree with me, you are wrong. Fact.

What else belongs on the list of shame? Comment below!

Sort:  

Too many Celine Dion to mention! "Because You Loved Me", "The Power of Love" not to be confused with the rocking Huey Lewis and the News Back to the Future jam. -@bozz

Here is a bad one for you!
Bryan Adams - Everything I Do

Bryan Adams and Michael Bolton are two peas in a pod. Toxic peas in a rotten pod.

Oh that is funny!!!! ROTTEN POD!!!

Cheesy and sleazy, I have nothing to add, you really nailed it.
Ugh"

Percy Sledge was great. Discovered and recorded by Muscle Shoals Recording studio.

Too bad Bolton had to sideline this song with overproduction that attempts to coverup a lack of talent.

I agree with you @perrev Michael Bolton did a crime with this song. With a touch of rock and a great singer it can sound like Jimmy Barnes did:

Lol @jacobtothe! "Superficial lust is romantic, right? No. Also, every aspect of this song objectively sucks, and if you disagree with me, you are wrong. Fact." I do not disagree with you. Thanks for the chuckles. Following for more ;)

happy valentinesday dear @jacobtothe


Definitely I agree with you. I think this song is a similar song.

I haven't heard that song on repeat on the radio though.

It's a very romantic song, I'm interested in all these songs

You obviously didn't read the post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58118.57
ETH 2462.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38