What happened to country music?

in #music7 years ago

I was catching up on old pop music reviews by Todd in the Shadows, and the video embedded below reminded me that something is very, very wrong with whatever this stuff being passed off as "Country Music" really is.

Admittedly, my personal tastes in country music have no doubt been heavily influenced by growing up listening to old Sons of the Pioneers albums and Appalachian bluegrass rather than Brooks and Dunn or George Strait.

I also rather like the Riders in the Sky, in large part because of their blend of serious musicianship and comedic banter with that throwback sound to classic country swing.

Of course, Johnny Cash transcends time and genre, and there was good country music produced amidst the sea of garbage on through the 90s and 2000s, but at some point, THIS happened:

Is there any good country music beneath the sea of overproduced shallow twang-pop bro-country garbage? Post links in the comments below! But beware, I may flag anything I dislike too much in this thread, so be cautious...

Sort:  

You are so right. In 2011 when Walker Hayes or Scotty McQueery, (one of those two) won New Artist of the Year. I was sick! They chose them over BRANTLEY FREAKING GILBERT
Thank the lord for throwback guys like Stapleton and new guys like Upchurch. They are the reason I still listen to country music, not Chase Rice and Sam Hunt OMFG...

"Body like a back road" should be condemned under every legal and moral system known to mankind.

How on earth did you dig up this ancient post though?

Haha i agree.
I found it after searching in the search tab for 'county music'. I was trying to find some people to follow who like/write about country.

I should post more music links. I plan to write more about bluegrass and old-time music than modern country though.

Seems more indie folk than country, but I like it.

Ya almost a little punk rock in there. Dabbles into to many genres to label. Kinda cool and different I thought.

I like bands that experiment, break molds, and develop their own sounds. This leads to strange bands like Danielson that are definitely an acquired taste. This may be their least-weird song and video...

have a listen to pavlov's dawgs,

How about some Johnny 2 fingers and the deformities for ya, I know, I like some weird shit.

Ya, definitely different. Not bad!

Sturgill Simpson seems to break the mold, and fits into the 'country' genre fairly neatly.

Definitely a dose of classic outlaw country sound there.

have a look at Jodi Harms or Beth Williams on youtube, contact '[email protected]' for details of his next old time country music festival.
If you are brave enough to leave the USA and have a look at Australia Justin Standley in NZ Roger Tibbs.
They are still there producing good music, come to Marton NZ 3rd weekend in January for a 3 day festival of a good verity of country.

I have been once, my wife twice. a week of old time bluegrass and country music.
There is a circuit that starts in Florida in the spring, works up towards the Canadian border, goes across the top and down to California by fall.
each weekend at a different town, Give Bob and email, he will know roughly where and when they are on, you can say I sent you it won't upset him at all.

I'm more into the Outlaw Country, but traditional Country is good also. I agree that the "New Country" is not really country at all. We need more people like Marty Robbins, Tammy Wynette, Loretta Lynn and Eddy Arnold. There are a few promising artists these days, if they don't get caught up in all the "New Country" phase. Johnny Cash was (and is) still great too.

Good music is rarely popular music at the time it is produced.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58010.39
ETH 2457.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34