You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: dub vs. dnb

in #music7 years ago

Ive been a bass DJ for long times and I guess this is the first time I'm asking but where does halftime fit , I was noticing it was fairly closer to dub today but the name haltime is in reference to dnb

Sort:  

If I understand your question correctly: I think that halftime, relative to this discussion of snare placement can be confusing as half is relative.. That is what is neat about the timing in general, really.. In attempts to answer your question, I believe most dnb would be hitting two snare per bar- if you have time correct/markers set to 1/16 per bar then snares would hit on spaces '5' and '13' whereas in relative "half-time" you would only have a snare in the position of "9"

I hope that answers your question.. whereas in dubstep, often the snares are doubled to add an upbeat or buildup- in dnb the snares can be halved to provide a breakdown or slow down effect.. of course you could just shift the tempo as well- but then all the sounds change.. whereas this is just playing with the time across the sounds as they are.. creating an illusion of halved or doubled timing..

Anyway, hope I could help and that the thought is as entertaining to you as it is to me. I could re-word this all day.

I would love to hear a set from you. Bass makes me happy inside. I will be checking into your blog. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56162.63
ETH 2368.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31