WOW. Music and it's crazy ability to evoke past memories. (Life chat)

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone!

image

I haven't posted in awhile, I thought everyone could use a break from my 10 post a day binges. I must admit, I got a little carried away and have since calmed down on the stimulants (lol).

Anyway, if theres one thing about me that you should know about me besides my love of the ganja, it's my obsession with music. I need some sort of music playing at all times, as it helps me get work done and relaxes me. My father is a musician, so I am destined to love music. I don't have a favourite genre because I judge music based on individual artists. I listen to anything from classic rock, country, hip-hop, alternative, and r&b. I think one of the reasons I like music so much is because every song I listen to links me to specific events or periods of time in my life. Along with this, certain songs remind me of specific people in both good and bad ways.

Today I was walking to the gym with my head phones in and music blasting. It started to rain slightly, so I put my entire music library on shuffle so I didn't have to keep taking my phone out to pick a song. Since my entire music library was playing, all the throwback songs of my life were coming on. I won't bore you with the story behind each one, however I thought it would be interesting to share some of the songs that have been the most influential/memory evoking throughout my life. Here are some of them off of the top of my head:

**Fast Car- Tracy Chapman

Lightening Crashes- Live

How to Love- Lil Wayne

Say it Aint So- Weezer

Slide- Goo Goo Dolls

Wicked Games- The Weeknd

The Girl- City and Colour

Hailies Song- Eminem

Hey Mama- Kanye West

That Smell- Lennard Skynner

The Prayer- Kid Cudi

She Will Be Loved- Maroon 5

Drug Dealer Girl- Mike Posner

Little Lion Man- Mumford and Sons

Heart Shaped Box- Nirvana

Dont Look back in Anger- Oasis

Innocent- Our Lady Peace

Yellow- Cold Play

Lights Please- J. Cole

Up Up and Away- Kid Cudi

If it Makes You Happy- Sheryl Crow

Whiskey Lullaby- Brad Paisley

The Knowing- The Weeknd

Drive- Incubus

I'll Be Good- Jaymes Young

Ocean- John Butler Trio

Mrs. Officer- Lil Wayne

My Life- The Game

Seek Bromance- Tim Berg

Or Nah (Remix) - The Weeknd

Raise Your Weapon- Deadmau5

The A Team- Ed Sheeran**

Anyway, I just thought I would share that because its been awhile since I've listened and reminisced to older songs. Right now I'm listening to Fast Car, which is why I included it in this post. Thanks for reading :) comment below with your top 5 memory evoking songs, I would love to know!

Sort:  

MDMA was just being whispered as I was stopping my heavy use back in the day. Did pretty well everything else though...
DSofThe Moon on 'cid....
Crime of The Century by Supertramp
Overnight Sensation by Zappa
Kind of Blue by M. Davis
Anything by Chris Whitley:)
Be well, youngun'!

Hahaha oh god, excuse my egocentrism. MDMA was definitely a thing before my time, however it was new to us high schoolers and wasn't mainstream in pop culture yet. Interesting song selection, Ive only ever heard of supertramp, dont kill me hehe

I love your music selection @indicaqueen ... I want to live in a Nirvana afterlife :)<3

Why thank you, what's your favourite song by them?

Probably your own selection - Heart Shaped Box ... or Frances Farmer will have her revenge of Seattle! Fascinating story too BTW. Steem on @indicaqueen :)

Aw thanks! I followed you btw

You appear an enchanting creature @indicaqueen :)

Yes I'm what people would say "unique

Steemit is indeed bathed in uniqueness alright - with some very clever characters too ;)

I feel like I'm super young on here that's the thing

Beautiful

I was just listening to an Album (yeah, not just a single) and realized it really was one of my favorites of all time. (freedom by WhiteHeart) Many may not have heard of it, but it's sooo well produced and the songs really move me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57560.27
ETH 2570.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48