Wayback Wednesday - Pet Shop Boys "West End Girls"

in #music6 years ago (edited)


westendgirls.jpg
Original Image Source from Pixabay

It's #waybackwednesday everyone! Today, the random song that popped up on my mp3 player was West End Girls by the British band Pet Shop Boys.

This song has an interesting sound to it and sounds like it has a little bit of pop with hip-hop that was coming out at the time this was released. It was an international success for the duo, comprised of Neil Tennant and Chris Lowe.

To me, this song is about culture and about the different classes in society: the upper class, middle class and lower class. That's how I interpret it. What is your interpretation of this song?

Sincerely,
Ilsa Ione

Sort:  

Great song! I reminded me a lot of that one song by Blondie that I can't remember the name of right now. Guess I am losing my mind!

There's so many Blondie songs! Are you thinking of Heart of Glass maybe?

No, I think it is called Rapture.

That was going to be my next guess! Seriously! It does kind of have that vibe to it!

I think there are so many hidden meanings in this song. Reminds me of Uptown Girls, with the lower end guys.

I agree, culture, but, so many other gems that are in there.

I agree. It was the first song that played when I put my mp3 player on shuffle so I tried to say a little something about the song. So glad it wasn't the song that came on afterwards or this would have been a really long post! Haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16