Daily Vlog 25: Some announcements and a bit of eurorack

in #music6 years ago (edited)


This videos starts off with a reminder to enter my weekly dtube is better than contest. This weeks prize will be 2 sbd and the topic is, why is dtube better than brushing your teeth. I would really love it if the community started generating some hilarious content around this and I am hoping that this contest will pick up more and more steem... literally. After that I go get into some eurorack music production.

check out the dtube is better than contest here

https://steemit.com/dtubeisbetterthan/@illuminationst8/rre003w4

SO what is a eurorack modular synthesizer? Well its a specific format of modular synthesizer that specifies the size, voltage requirements and the type of jack used. After that its pretty much fair game. There are hundreds of eurorack manufacturers all over the world, its a really exciting space to be in for sure. What makes a synthesizer modular? well this is somewhat up for debate but the general consensus (if your not Mark Dotty) is that it is made of individual modules that work together to create the sound. The individual modules can be bought manufactured or you can solder them together yourself. About 1/3rd of my modules are hand soldered by myself, however a lot of the manufactured modules I helped in the manufacturing process because that is my day job.

I have been working on this patch for the past several weeks to get it to this point. i am using it to record a piece for Data Cult Audio which is due this Saturday, I am about halfway done with my recording for this project, however I am going to keep everything patched for a performance I have at the end of the month. What your hearing is only the bottom rack, the top rack is muted for this section, however it is the main drums for my piece for Data Cult Audio. I start out with some sequences I recorded earlier in the week, you'll hear everything go silent and then can see me doing some live sequence recording and hear how I build up texture and movement in my work.

Thanks again to all my supporters and followers!

~Noah


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

It is really cool that you made many of the modules yourself :)

What a wonderful video you show my brother, I am very amazed to you, may the more successful my brother @illuminationst8

Thank you again, for a nice video. I love your eurorack. Do build it from scratch or from kits (e.g. Doepfer etc.). So good luck and have a nice day.

It’s about 30 percent hand soldered by me and the rest is manufactured modules... that said I work for a eurorack company in production so some of those 70 percent I’ve had a hand in producing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59727.23
ETH 2674.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44