Global Collab Series 003 - Brave w/ StayLoose (fka SteLouse)

in #music6 years ago (edited)

gold3.jpg
Painted gold for the never-released Brave video

StayLoose fka SteLouse is an amazing talent who happens to live only 15 minutes away from me and is an actual Colorado native - something unusual in this bustling time of transplants here. He found me through Soundcloud, and after realizing we were so close, we decided to meet up.

Ross is a surprising anomaly in a field of long-shirted "fuccbois" in Supreme dad-hats - as a longtime rock and roll artist, tattoo fan and lover of shiba-inu dogs, he looks and acts entirely himself. Totally authentic. And unapologetic about the fact that he makes cutting-edge, beautiful electronic pop. I freaking love him.

I was honored to join the amazing artist collective founded by him and Detroit-based Ahh Ooh, named after a Japanese phrase for "the serpent's way" - Hebinomichi. Although currently idle, I featured on several compilations and releases with them both as myself and as an alter ego, Snowdenne. The collective even features on a Splice sample pack - here's a feature on us by fellow Denver collective Souls In Action

paintedgold.jpg
In the makeup chair getting painted gold for the never-released Brave video

Throughout many ups and downs in my career in the last few years, StayLoose has been there for me, steadfast, reminding me that things happen at different paces for different people. That just because I'm no longer a 20-year-old ingenue doesn't mean that I can't carve my own path and continue to overcome obstacles.

Sometimes, I feel like the obstacle-mounting itself is my destiny.

So it's fitting that the subject song of this post, Brave, is all about overcoming fears. (I'm particularly proud of all the "lion" puns :) Lyrics below.


Sixth sense telling me to lean close
Weak in my knees, can I handle this dose
And my imagination runs away
Can't hold back no more, I'm lost if I stay

Cause I'd be lyin... if I said
Lyin.. if I tried
To be like a lion, I'd cave in
Tryin to be brave and
Sit here sorta dyin... Where's your head
Lyin... on my bed
I'mma stop tryin
Just cave in
Open up and it begins

Right through this, now I see, now I see
Right through this, now I see, now I see
Right through this, now I see, now I see
Right through this, now I see

Cause I'd be lyin... if I said
Lyin.. if I tried
To be like a lion, I'd cave in
Tryin to be brave and
Sit here sorta dyin'... Where's your head
Lyin... on my bed
I'mma stop tryin
Just cave in
Open up and it begins

Sort:  

whoa , this was cool! Loved it ! chill vibes ! great vocals , ambience , this has the whole thing going on ! :) I'ma resteem !

Absoultely beautiful. The song is nice too haha :P

I like the way it opened with the manipulated vocals, keys and harmonies, then the beat slowly creeps and boom... dem synths, trippy sounds and the appegiated soundscapes with your sweet vocals. Damn.

Well done and I'm not lyin haha.

I see that slick pun sneak. Bacon 4ever

Annnd – there she is again.

...just because I'm no longer a 20-year-old ingenue doesn't mean that I can't carve my own path and continue to overcome obstacles.

Watching your musical evolution over the past decade has been nothing short of inspiring. No matter the difficulties life presents, you just keep on creating – forever true to your craft – striving always to improve.

It is the mark of a truly great artist, I believe, to always be aiming oneself towards something greater – exploring every avenue possible to get there. I'm proud of all you continue to accomplish and create as you become ever more brilliantly you.

You're a phenomenal artist on your own, but you're also an amazing collaborator. More, please.

aroha-1440.jpg

I love you Zippy. Where would I be without my little bird!

Is @soundwavesphoton familiar with your work?... you guys should do something... it would be beyond amaze too!!

@zipporah has been sharing, I think... would love to!!!

Agreed! And @soundwavesphoton is already in love with @ill-esha. ;) I foresee good things to come.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98