A Night at The Symphony (Roswell Symphony Orchestra October 2, 2017 Pics)

in #music8 years ago

Wow o wow. What an incredible performance last night in Roswell ...


                   My view from the third row!

Not only was I privileged to interview "Maestro" John Farrer on my podcast very recently...


Official site : johnfarrerconductor.com

...I also have the incredible fortune of finding out that my "temp" next-door neighbor was only in town to perform as a bassist with The Roswell Symphony Orchestra! Not really knowing anybody in town, he and his wife gave me their comp tickets (hence the great seat!).

So anyways, arriving early with bassist Nick Johnson and his wife Wynette, here's about a dozen pics - starting with me just lurking around backstage. 

Y'know because I could...

Roswell Symphony Orchestra board member Gary Canon...

Bassist (and my neighbor, but not after today!) Nick Johnson

Harpist Cassandra Hussey (I got her card)

Long-time RSO Patrons Shirley and Sam

"Yours truly..." (me, Guy Malone, @ibringawareness)

Tonight's program, featuring Violinist Hye-Jin Kim...

"Describing the artistry of violinist Hye-Jin Kim, winner of the Concert Artists Guild International Competition, The Strad lauded her “heart-stopping, unrivalled beauty” of sound and her “supremely musical playing, well-thought out, yet of the moment.”
Ms. Kim’s sensitivity to the expressive and contextual components of the violin repertoire enables her to transport audiences beyond mere technical virtuosity, and this remarkable musical depth and passion brought her to international prominence..."
from her official site

"Audience Etiquette" described in the program demanded cameras be turned off, so no shots of the actual performance... but stay with me as the final bow and close ups of the violinist are still to come!

But first, Nick Johnson again


Nick and his wife's card Artesian Wellness LLC - "Optimal Health Springs from Within"

Two more warming up shots...

and not least, ticket taker / usher volunteer girls

Words simply cannot express how amazing RSO and Hye-Jin Kim were together, nor the release of pent-up emotion that accompanied the standing ovation at this moment, when we could all finally applaud ... I won't even try.

Backstage afterwards...


Conductor John Farrer and Violinist (extraordinairre!) Hye-Jin Kim (click for her music!)

I was honored to be able to say to her "You melted my soul..."


Ha! I'm holding my phone down to assure her that I'm not just a fanboy snapping pics, but BOY am I glad that Nick's wife Wynette Johnson took this one for me! (Wynette took both of the above.)

And Galactic Sushi afterwards!

Sorry you missed all this? Roswell Symphony Orchestra and Conductor John Farrer return December 4, 2016 for "Christmas Classics" and on February 4, 2017 for "Magnificent Mozart"!

==========
See www.RosGuide.com for official links to RSO, as well as many other artistic, musical, and theatrical events coming to Roswell NM in coming weeks and months. And listen to Reporting from Roswell with Guy Malone weekly for "All The News That's Fit to Retract" and podcast interviews with many of Roswell's "movers, shakers, and coming attractions" including 2017 Roswell UFO Festival headliners.

Sort:  

@ibringawareness Upvoted. Congratulations! Your great post was chosen to feature on the front page of today's edition of 'Steem Talk' : https://steemit.com/news/@steemtalk/steem-talk-your-daily-best-of-steemit-digital-newspaper-weekender-edition-25 Guy, I know what it is like from the stage perspective... great job! Unfortunately I got voted down on ft. your awesome meme, which we all loved btw... lol.. just a tad risque for the front page :)

Thanks again! Sorry to be out of pocket awhile replying.. I nderstand about the meme, a bit risque for me too, but oh well, gotta have some fun.

Nice pictures, but did I miss the video?

I wish! But not allowed. Did I say something that made you expect to see one Rich?

Ooooops, no! You haven't )))
Yet, I wish I would hear something too ;D

Something really good for you (I love this masterpiece):

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59987.83
ETH 2418.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41