Song of the Day - Possession by Sarah McLachlian

in #music6 years ago

It's kind of weird how much I've been enjoying this song lately. Personally, I think the vocal melodies on this are amazing despite having some production that hasn't exactly aged particularly well. I think what has this in my mind though is finding out a bit of the story behind it. The song was inspired by two deranged fans of hers, both of whom had concocted a fantasy in which they were already in a relationship with McLachlan. The song is directly inspired this obsession with her. In a twist, when the song came out one of the fans actually sued McLachlian over the song alleging that his letters he sent were the basis of the song. The lawsuit never came to trial following the suicide of the fan in 1994.

I think this story gives the song a context that I didn't understand before and shows an artist rising up and reclaiming herself from her fans. In light of the #metoo movement, I think the end result is something rather powerful. Worth a trip down memory lane the past few days.

Sort:  

Great song, and thanks for sharing the history on it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59796.03
ETH 2732.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52