Song of the Day - Mockingbird by Ruston Kelly

in #music5 years ago (edited)

So, here is a little secret of mine. I actually like country music. It's not exactly my most listened genre by a long long shot though. Mostly because the current state of pop bro country means nearly all the country music in popular culture is absolutely unbearable and I'm simply not the person to dig through the mounds of shit to find the gems that would resonate with me. I'm far more likely to focus my energy into electronic music and hip hop than invest that time into country.

That isn't to say that occasionally a great country track doesn't cross my ears. Ruston Kelly's album has been on repeat the last couple of days thanks to a recommendation from a trusted friend. I gave it a chance and while it isn't experimental by my standards, it does have loads of solid story telling song writing which is what I love about country. Mockingbird starts with one of my most hated tropes (girls in tight jeans) but manages to flip it into something genuinely moving. The sort of sadness that comes with regret and wasted opportunities. A release from a doomed relationship and the heartache that comes from not being able to help someone become better. Great stuff.

Sort:  

Oww nice :) Not so much of a country fan myself, but then again, the song you share is certainly one I can listen to. It is quite pop-ish, hence I can handle it :)

Pop gets such a bad reputation online. I really like a well crafted pop song. Don’t listen to a lot of country, but I dig this. Just solid songwriting.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah, Pop music can be very good, in general they are able to use good equipment and services due to their income, especially when being popular. Especially in the 80s a lot of good pop music was created.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99