Song of the Day - Letters I Wrote by Vicktor Taiwò

in #music6 years ago

Another excellent day of doing paperwork. Honestly, I'm happy to have a break from being busy as this has kind of been a summer from hell for me. Spending the morning catching up on admin with the occasional YouTube break to see what some artists I've been following have been up to.

Today's track comes from Vicktor Taiwò who I became acquainted with from the use of his song Digital Kids during a pivotal moment from the Netflix show Dear White People. I've been meaning to look into his work more. He's slept on a bit partially because his most recent work, the ambitious First Movement film is excellent but requires a bit of time to digest in a world that seems to want immediacy. Either way, I like his work quite a bit and love the scope of what he does. This recent track gives me strong Frank Ocean/Sampha vibes, but really I don't like to compare because he's sort of in a class of his own. This track is a melancholic bit of atmospheric RnB with a rich vocal that makes you feel his emotion. Definitely an artist worth following. Excited to see what else he has in store for us.

Sort:  

A new version of "Seal" - fantastic!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62659.86
ETH 2534.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63