Music Studio Finally Feeling Complete

in #music5 years ago

Moving is one of those rare stresses that I think everyone hates. It's particularly nasty when you've been in one space for over a decade and somehow even worse when moving means giving up your music studio for a few weeks while you settle in.

A few weeks of trying different setups and rewiring later and I finally have a space that simply feels like a massive step up from the dirty basement studio of my old house.

So, in preparation for my one year Steemiversary tomorrow, I want to post some before and after pictures of my studio as it came together. Enjoy!

IMG_0138.jpg

Here you can see what it looked like after finally getting everything inside the new room. Records and keyboards everywhere. Not going to lie, it is crazy intimidating seeing this much of a mess.

IMG_0141.jpg

Took a couple of solid hours to do, but the vast majority of the records got put in the old Ikea shelving that is pretty standard for every DJ in America. Still have a bunch of records to re-sleeve, but that is going to be a long project.

IMG_0142.JPG

Getting the rack mount gear and power supply reinstalled. Unfortunately, the power supply for the Zoom was pretty frail and broke somehow on the trip. Still looks pretty sexy having a rack full of gear.

IMG_0163.JPG

Unboxing the MatrixBrute with some help from my son. He thought it was a giant toy for him. He was very disappointed it was just an awesome keyboard.

IMG_0222.jpg

Decided to invest in a little smart lighting for the room from Lifx. Man, I had no idea how much I needed these in my life until I got them. Gone are the days of oppressive white light in my room. Now I can set my color to my mood. Full review coming later.

IMG_0170.jpg

Many years ago a friend surprised me with a incredible stand for my turntables. I don't keep them setup anymore, but this special piece is a perfect stand for the MatrixBrute. If you look off to the side you can also see an old Roland MC-202. Going to have a ton of fun with these two.

IMG_0221.jpg

Side shot of the MatrixBrute. Also pictured, an old Technics keyboard, an M-Audio Venom, and my MAM MB-33 for those sexy 303 lines. There is also a pretty cool semi Modular system under it.

IMG_0229.jpg

Closer picture of the Blue Lantern Evila. Using the CV out of the MatrixBrute to sequence it. Like adding a couple of extra oscillators to the mix.

IMG_0223.jpg

Unplugged at the moment because I needed the power supply for a DJ gig, but the Elektron Analog 4 and Machinedrum will always have a special spot in the studio.

IMG_0224.jpg

Gotta have a candle for those production vibes. Some additional rack mount stuff and a field recorder in the mix. Still trying to find a good space for the Novation Launchpad, Circuit, and the NI Maschine, but I'll make it work eventually.

IMG_0227.jpg

Once during a particularly awful Christmas, I bought some random art from a pizza place and it made me feel pretty good. Still love this thing.

IMG_0228.jpg

Of course, the doggo needs a studio spot as well.

Hope you enjoyed the pictures! Can't wait to see what new music comes from this room. Here's to new audio adventures.

Sort:  

impressive collection of vinyls and electronic tools ! place like this should be in every home :)
also cool idea with the lights. props for managing 1st year anniversary, changing appartment, setting up everythign and contributing in the community. multidisciplinary beast :)

Thanks. Honestly, this has been a year from hell largely due to a surgery to repair a ruptured Achilles my wife had that got infected and nearly killed her due to negligence from her doctor. Managing a 70 hour work week with an autistic child and a bed ridden wife while selling a 102 year old house made it one of the worst years on record for me. It's honestly been one of the slowest years for me in actually finishing music. I'm just really happy to get this year over with. Finally feel settled down and done navigating that really tough real life stuff. Thanks for the support once again.

Also, those lights are awesome. My first time dipping my toes into smart home stuff and I love it.

i am still under a big impression that with so many different responsibilities you were still able to find some time for music.
I really wish you all the best, man :)

Congratulations @iamevilradio! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59241.52
ETH 2989.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71