You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Penny for Your Songs (4) - Of Fantasy and Men

in #music5 years ago (edited)

Now we're talking :) Blind Guardian - very nice.Oh and never apologize for sharing good music ;) I like the Peter Pan in Mordor part especially, they've got really good lyrics.
I didn't know the second band, but it's really impressive. you're right, the passion of the crowd wins you right over.
Oh, and they don't particularly inspire me to dream, but Jinjer and Alcest both put out new songs yesterday and they're pretty awesome, so at least that's something ~

Sort:  

Alcest .A woman after my own heart XD I love the new single. As far as Jinjer go, I appreciate their instrumental sections, but they don't do much for me to be honest.

I'm glad you appreciated this week's theme :D Although the songs, they were...err, both by Blind Guardian :D

I meant I didn't know the song :)) I can't believe I said that. Sorry, I've been weird all day. Something in the atmosphere just working against me. Bastards.

Ha I just got into an argument about Jinjer yesterday, I shared it in a rock group and some guy felt the need to point out they suck in comparison to so and so he liked. It's just such a subjective thing, music. It's all about individual experience and what memories you associate with what band/song, I suppose :) Yes, Alcest are another rather recent discovery for me, but I really like their stuff, it's great to work on, well some are, because I don't know a lot of the lyrics and they're not too noisy or disturbing, you know?

Ahaha I figured it had to be a slip-up or something, you're usually the attentive type :P

You know, I hate that kind of discussion and I try to keep myself as far away from it as possible. Happens all the time on Facebook, I guess that place is toxic beyond all help. Full of people that apparently have to compensate for something.
I don't love Jinjer personally because they can rarely get through to me, for some reason. I like their music but I just don't feel that need to listen to it again and again, you know? Technically though, they are something, and comparisons are usually so...pointless.

Yeah, I have the same problem when I know the lyrics and I'm working :) That's one of the reasons I used to listen to Mike Oldfield that much, he made a lot of instrumental stuff.
Alcest are really good. You know, if you don't mind the black metal vocals, you might really love Agalloch (if you don't already).

Comparisons are always pointless :)) yeah, I get it. Just I don't know, something to do with the person who introduced me to them that keeps me coming back, I guess.

I did not know Agalloch, but from what I hear, they're right up my alley <3 thank you!

Huh, I see. I might have a couple of those too, lost somewhere in history.

You're welcome :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60836.17
ETH 2567.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57