"splitting bamboo" instrumental original, played on acoustic basssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #music7 years ago

It's been sunny in seattle, so naturally I've been working on some calypso rhythms. I wrote this little piece just for fun when I was practicing some harry belafonte tunes and dreaming of honey walnut prawn.
The verse or "a" section is a little misleading, it gives the impression of the key being C but it's really in Ab, I'm just playing a major 3rd and 6th to start it.
Then I go into the "b" section which is C all day, I'm just doing the classic I IV I V with occasional flat VI
Which brings me to the "c" section where I get a little jazzy, Insinuating going into F but really I'm just bring her home to the Ab with a little fancy footwork.
I really don't know to much about calypso music, but I have a lot of fun playing it, if anyone out there has any recommendations on good artist to check out I would be more then appreciative for your comment. Hope you all enjoy this little tune!

Sort:  

Enjoyed your piece - just to share back here's a little poem which I hope you enjoy.
https://steemit.com/poetry/@fsw/freebard-poem-for-chidren-sunday-special

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69849.38
ETH 3709.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73