MUSIC LIFE 2018 - AN EPIC FEAST OF NEW MUSIC

in #music6 years ago

I’m listening to as much new music as I can. It’s amazing to listen to a bunch of different genres and just explore. For me that means a ton of hip-hop, extreme metal, and some electronic music.

It feels like the music I listen to has a direct influence on the music that I create. In some sense it is a controllable part of a formula of creativity. Input —> Output.

You cant predict what will happen with all new music, I mean its new, but you know something is going to happen. You know that if you listen to 2-3 albums, at least one of them will provoke new ideas in your brain. That’s important if you struggle sometimes with writer’s block.

Used to Miss All The New Music

I used to not listen to much new music. There was a phase of 2 years or so where I just wasn’t looking for anything new. It seemed like it was never a high priority.

Now I cannot get enough. I’m trying to listen to at least one new album every day if I can. It feels good and it’s interesting. I’d rather listen to a new album than watch a TV show in most situations, so that gives me a few extra hours of the day to spend on music.

New music is cool and we’re super lucky to have access to most of it through our computers. Whenever a record drops, it’s instantly in the cloud. That is incredible.

What is your new music listening habit? Do you take in a lot of new music? Where do you get it?

Sort:  

What are you really enjoying now?

Listening to a lot of the band Deafheaven, I still am not sure how I feel about them but its intriguing. Also Car Bomb. Both insane metal bands

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54461.78
ETH 2294.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28