Entirely Random [ER]#3 -- Music from 1970, Detroit(USA)

in #music6 years ago

Black Merda Cynthy Ruth

Front copy.jpg

Black Merda is a band that originally formed in the 1960's within a high school. They were not yet aware of the fact that they were to be "Black Merda" at the time; instead they were back up musicians in the Detroit music scene for many different acts/musicians that went on to achieve enormous success. They adopted the name the Impacts, but later were claimed as backup musicians by Edwin Starr, who dubbed them the Soul Agents.

Throughout their early years they worked on many very successful tracks(they were the musicians behind the instruments in Edwin Starr's War, for one). Yet, harder rock-and-roll was starting to make it's imprint, and after learning of the Jimi Hendrix Experience, they wanted to form a similar group. They also recorded what is believed to be the very first Hendrix cover, a rendition of "Foxy Lady".

R-2682264-1296388527.jpeg.jpg

Their R&B influence was still strong, but began to shift more towards the psych/rock/funk/soul side of things. Detroit at the time(I mean, nothing's really changed) had huge race issues; many thought the police were working with the Klan. Police brutality was high, and so were functions of the KKK. So, the band began to shift their focus a little bit. They seemed to "care" more about voicing the issues in smaller communities than the artists that they were surrounded with, and they wanted to make a stance.

So they decided to split ways with Edwin Starr and be their own four-person band. They first changed their name to Murder Incorporated, then shortly after Black Murder, then the spelling was changed to Merda, as a comment on African American slang.

Their split from the R&B scene was not immediate. They were not quite established enough yet, despite having done backing on many successful songs and records. During this transition period, the band was introduced to the owner of Chess Records, who took an interest in producing their own work.

Chess Records released their self-titled debut album in 1970, and despite the band making a powerful impact on the scene, it suffered from a sever lack of promotion; as did their second album, produced by a subsidiary of Chess, in 1972.

The lack of reception from the larger community discouraged the members and the band split up indefinitely, or so they thought.

hqdefault.jpg

In 2005 collections of their songs were released and were enormously more successful than they had been in the 1970s(very similar to another scene-breaking all African American Detroit band Death, which I will most likely make a post about at some point). The success encouraged them to reunite as a trio, and they have released two albums since.

They truly are a remarkable band and I highly encourage you to look into them if you like what you hear below. I encourage you to start with their earlier work, and work your way to their 2005 re-recordings and beyond.

Rock on!

Sort:  

          Hello @herbertholmes, This was a very nice review, and write up. I like how you used imagery to break the flow, and give peoples eyes a rest. One thing to avoid copyright issues and stuff is when using an image put the source of the image

Source: wikipedia
          This avoids most copyright issues. Still a big debate on when and how it is okay to use an image on a blog post. As time passes you will get more exposure, one thing that may help is to visit some of the tags, look for similar review content, and see what tags they are using if they get a lot of views.
          They do have a nice rhythmic sound on the video you linked, I liked it. Very 70's sound to it.

I agree! Incredible review of the 70’s I love most!
I could go on to fly away with names now but I catch some sleep first :)
Here is to my beauty sleep

Hey @bashadow ! Thanks for taking the time to stop by.

Thanks for the copyright tip, I am pretty unaware of what is appropriate to use on the site and what isn't, so that helps. I will go through my posts at some point and credit all my images, and I will certainly be sure to in the future.

Thanks again. Glad you liked the track. Cheers!

Use “image source” below any picture You use from the net and never copy/ paste text from somewhere, unless you put it

like that

Thanks! Yeah I will make sure to source images from now on. I haven't copied and pasted any text, thus far I've written original material. But I will keep that in mind!

Thanks for your support!

You did very well! My kind of “quality”music review and I go through a loooooot of them. Thanks for all your comments on my articles. Very nice to meet you!

Thanks! I really appreciate that. For years I've written fiction in my free time/when I'm really bored, and my few weeks here has been my first time writing anything on a public platform. I'm glad it was well received :)

No problem! I love finding new people here. Looking forward to more. Cheers!

I felt the same when I started on this platform back in June 2016. I never wrote anything in public except silly stuff on Facebook :) It’s been an amazing ride since then. I can feel that you will be a huge success in a minute but don’t expect too much too soon. Comments on members articles will grow your network. That’s rule #1. See You around! 🌺

I'm in no rush :) I'm here for the ride. I do , however, really appreciate your encouragement! Thanks!

@herbertholmes Thanks for bringing this music group to my attention I have not heard of them before... @unityeagle you ever hear this band before?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60833.36
ETH 3370.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49