My vinyl records collection

in #music7 years ago

Hello fellow steemians, today I thought to present my small (for the time being) vinyl records collection. I'm a big music enthusiast and I love collecting music in any format - vinyl records, cds & cassette tapes - besides my digital files from torrent downloading. 

I'd like to start with the band Sentenced. The album presented here is called The Cold White Light. 

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" gesture="media" allow="encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Sentenced was a band from Finland which has now disbanded and this particular album is a truly favourite of mine, because the music and lyrics present a much sensitive and honest to itself concept of internal pain, loss, depression, loneliness. A true desire to let it all out, negativity at its finest. The musical genre I guess lies in Gothic metal.


I'll continue with the next band A Diadem of Dead Stars. The album presented here is called Kingdoms Bathed in Golden Light.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" gesture="media" allow="encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

A Diadem of Dead Stars is a one man project from my home country Greece. The music genre is Atmospheric Black Metal and its the kind of music that I also love. It's about the musical atmosphere and the melody which is there to listen and to enjoy.

 


Next in line await Sleep Maps. The album presented here is called We Die For Truth.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" gesture="media" allow="encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Sleep Maps is also a one man project from the USA. I discovered this album from a torrent site where the album was uploaded, maybe by its creator, I'm not entirely sure about it, but I do think so. Long after that the artist uploaded this album to https://feedbands.com/, where the users vote for the albums they like in order to make those albums pressed on vinyl. Consequently, this album got to get pressed on vinyl. I didn't want to miss the opportunity to have it in my collection and so, here it is. The musical genre is Post-Rock / Post-Metal and I enjoy this kind of music a lot. Sleep Maps have released a new album as well and by now I think its full band, no longer a one man project.


Let's move to the next band Anathema. The album presented here is called The Optimist.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" gesture="media" allow="encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Anathema is a well known English band, with their discography spanning over 20 years and counting. They started as a metal band but during their course they changed their musical direction to progressive / alternative rock. I remember when I was introduced to Anathema I didn't like their sound, because it wasn't metal and I was craving for metal sound. A few years back though I completely fell in love with their sound and their songs. I've seen them a few times live and they're great to attend to their gigs and listen to them live. Awesome musicians and the female vocals of Lee Douglas are among the best I've heard. So, when we the fans were expecting the new album I definitely wouldn't miss the opportunity to purchase their new album in limited red vinyl edition.


Moving on we meet Rotting Christ. The album presented here is called Rituals.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" gesture="media" allow="encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Rotting Christ is also a well established metal band from my home country Greece. They started as a black metal band with their discography spanning over 25 years and counting. However in their latest albums they turned their musical direction in what is now being called Dark metal or even Extreme metal. This band is also among my favourites and the reason is because they're honest in their music. The band is basically the Tolis brothers, Sakis songwriter - guitar player and singer and Themis playing the drums. Other members have joined the band as well as left the band. I like Sakis' approach, I appreciate his work and I'll keep doing this for sure.


Last but not least we get to meet a greek group, so probably folks from other countries won't be interested in it. Here we have Terror X Crew. The album presented is called Η πόλις εάλω.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" gesture="media" allow="encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Terror X Crew were a hip hop group and this album is the first they released. Now this group has disbanded and the members do their own thing. One day I decided to follow in facebook Dj Alx, the guy who was creating the "music" behind the lyrics being written by the two guys singing. Dj Alx was and still is music producer and DJ. So he posted in facebook that through crowdfunding he was thinking to re-release this first album, would there be interest from people to support this. I immediately jumped in. I'm a fan of their music, because I really love how they used to speak their truth in a direct way and pretty hardcore too. I just couldn't miss it. By the way, I've heard that Dj Alx through crowdfunding will attempt to re-release the second album of Terror X crew (TXC) and I'll jump there too, no doubt!


Well, we've reached the end with my vinyl record collection, it's pretty small for now, but will get bigger in time. I want to thank everybody who took the time to have a look at this post, feel free to comment! 

Sort:  

great records! especially by Anathema and Sentenced ;)

Sentenced is my absolut favourite! Anathema is fine but to be honest, I liked "Distant Satellites" a bit better. RC is also a favourite for me. Cheers!!!

Do you happen to have Anathema's Alternative 4 as well? My absolute favorite from this band.

I'd love to have this too, but nope. I don't even have it on cd. Good thing is I can always purchase it :)

WOW Never thought id see something related to Terror X Crew on Steemit! Thanks for the post!

I didn't even had to do anything. this is all you.

nice job man

Thanks anyway mate!

now thats something you're totally allowed to brag about :)

Thanks! But, my collection is not big enough to start bragging about it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67698.91
ETH 3266.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64