Hey You! (Now You Can Hear Me)

in #music3 years ago

A song from the 70s by Pink Floyd in which they ask, or beg, for someone to break through both their defensive walls (by the way the album is called The Wall) and reach out in a world where humans are becoming less and less social and where each one of us chooses to isolate themselves, building high emotional walls to protect ourselves from the disappointment and still getting disappointed when no one breaks them for us.

Was it a prophecy? Considering that, as we all know, socializing was much easier, or more necessary should I say, back then?
What words would Pink Floyd come up with had they have a glimpse of our society? Sometimes I think they had...

When I heard the song at first, I got this sense of sentimentality and familiarity, it spoke to me and it made it to my "old but gold" list. But only when I've lived some certain experiences and become more vulnerable to such brilliance had I get to connect to those guys in a deeper way.

It turns out no matter when or where we live, we are all the same. We think alike and feel alike. Even though I would envy people for being born in the 70s or born in Britain, it didn't make much of a difference to them. Because we all have our struggles, our loneliness, and our pain regardless of what language we try to express them in and to what god we pray for salvation from them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05