Wu Wednesday - GZA on being vegetarian

in #music6 years ago (edited)

Hello friends and family!

I hope you're feeling well. It's time for another Wu Wednesday!

GZA has been a vegetarian for almost 20 years now. He stopped eating pork in 1977, by 1996 beef, chicken, turkey, and fish were cut out from the meal plan as well. I dig his spirit and mind set in this video a lot.


Being vegetarian for seven years myself I had some troubles keeping it up recently. By 'it' I mean to avoid eating meat.
I got a Thyroid dysfunction, resulting in removing the thyroid four years ago. Since then, every blood test result was jeopardy, thus taking medication to balance my hormones daily.

I worked a lot, making healthy non-processed meals and dinners almost impossible. Sounds like a lame excuse right?

But soy products are not suitable for me.
So I started to eat fish from time to time, thinking about the doctor and my mom who said it would be best to try at least.

My blood results were much better, the lack of vitamins stabilized.

There were no drunk drive-through burger accidents; I was almost sober, to be honest. Super duper high if you want to now.

But I felt a bit selfish and weak...

My current situation is like this:

I eat meat/fish at most once or twice a week. I feel a bit miserly doing this.
Meat used to disgust me, and now I'm beginning to like the taste or the texture again...?! Weird.

The thing is, nobody forced me to eat meat. It was my decision!

I don't want to harm anybody, but I want to focus on my health, which should be my priority.
My goal for this new year is to try to eat less unhealthy. I want to cut the meat out again, hoping to fix the lack of Vitamin B12 and other stuff.


What do you think guys? Are you a vegetarian yourself?

If you got any tips for me, feel free to leave a comment.


love

@hazel420

Sort:  

I'm not vegetarian but raised my son is one. I think it's just a more responsible and healthier way to live. He's 10 now and has stuck with it even though his mom and I eat meat. I've never been veg but she was vegan for many years. Her health suffered (tho not specifically from that) and she went back to eating meat. I would say stick with it if you can. i eat mostly vegeterian but I do love to eat meat sometimes. Everything in moderation for me...

Also, Gza is the greatest. His talks on science and astronomy are pretty cool. he has a great interview with Neil deGrasse Tyson.

Thank you for the reply! I appreciate it. You are right; it´s about being more responsible. There are so many healthy options which don't contain any meat or even dairy. It's all about being creative.

I need to see the interview with Neil deGrasse Tyson now :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57831.03
ETH 3136.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42