'Mike's Monthly Mastering' Giveaway - SUBMISSION POST #3

in #music6 years ago

Hey guys! Hope everyone is doing well! Last month was pretty cool, although I only got two tracks in to master! They were both from @soundlegion, which hey, I'm all for it. Glad someone is utilizing the giveaway - I'm not overly concerned with awareness if Steemians are still making use of it! They were honestly great tracks and I'm glad I was able to help.

MMM-Giveaway.jpg

This is the official Round 3 Submission Post! Continue reading for the brief!
Every month, I will choose three tracks to master for three lucky Steemians. This is just one way I decided I would say 'thank you' to the community for the ongoing support, friendships, and opportunities.

What is mastering?

In the context of this giveaway, mastering is the process of optimizing the loudness, frequency distribution, and stereo spacing of an audio track to make it sound as punchy, full, powerful, and great as it can be. The master is supposed to preserve the decisions made in the mix as well as possible (or intended) in order to retain the vision of the song. In the context of an album, it can also fall to the mastering to make sure that all the songs sound coherent and smooth playing into one another.

What should I submit?

Ideally, you want to submit a high-quality recording (premaster) of your music that may need that extra push to completion. The track should already be mixed to the best of your (or engineer's) ability. Traditionally speaking, it is advised to leave around -6 db of headroom on your audio to leave the mastering engineer (yours truly) some headroom to work. Tracks should ideally be in .wav format, but if you only have an .mp3, that is okay too.

Note: Because this is a giveaway, I won't be overly picky with the headroom/wav preferences above - I am more aiming to help the individuals in the community that think they can benefit from it. Therefore, I will not shy away from tracks that do not follow the headroom/.wav preference, but keep in mind it may affect your final product!

What should I not submit?

Mastering is not magic - a mastering job is only as good as the mix/recording that comes before it. Therefore, you should not submit live tracks, or audio recorded on your phone or webcam. Obviously there are exceptions (like a live track being officially released as a live version), but use your best judgement. If you are unsure or need help/advice on how to get to a good premaster, join the 'Steemit Local Music Society' Discord and ask the community for help! That's what we're there for!

How to enter -

  • Submit your track in the comments of this post! Any player is acceptable - Soundcloud, Youtube, DTube, etc. I might advise to save your DSound post for your potentially mastered song to maximize upvotes though!

  • Over the course of 72 hours from the post, I will select the three winning songs that I will master! I will 100% upvote and comment 'Selected!' on the three winning comments (be sure to check your 'Replies' tab on your blog so you can see if I choose you)!

  • If you are chosen, email your track to '[email protected]' in the highest quality that you can (.wav is preferable) and as close as you can to the 'headroom' request (at least -6db of headroom).

  • You're all set, congratulations! Now, patience! Mastering takes a little time. You'll have your sexy new audio track all decked out soon enough. I will email the finished track back to the same email that sent it to me.

  • [Optional] Post that upvote-invoking beast on DSound and let the community steep in your dopeness.

Show us what you got, Steemit!


SLMSBanner.png
You can join the 'Steemit Local Music Society' here:

Click here to join on Discord.


You can follow me and my tunes on Steemit/Dtube/Dsound:

@harrisonmir


Sort:  

Dude i wanted to send you a track. the mixing was just not complete at the time. Almost done if its still ok to submit at a point.

edit: And wheres the new music?? ;)

Of course man! Truthfully at this point, because this is a relatively new initiative I haven't had too many submissions yet, so I'm not super worried about the '72 hour window'. I'll definitely count yours as numero uno for this month - you can send it to [email protected] whenever you're ready! No rush.

And yeah dude I know, I've been feeling a bit guilty about that myself lolll. But the real reason is I've been doing a lot of writing and refining and I just don't want to spam you guys with works in progress and repeated content, you know. I'll get back into it soon I hope though!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 68029.30
ETH 3272.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64