50 Laps Around The Sun

in #music6 years ago

event_banner_thors_50th.png

How I Celebrated My 50th Lap Around The Sun Last August.


I had been looking forward to 50th lap celebrations for a few years actually. Not worried about the “old” tag at all, but being more excited to make it to 50 laps and looking to make at least that again, hopefully.

The best way, I know, to celebrate such an event is with a big party, complete with bands and lots of friends. Even though, this is what happened a few months ago, the following post is a snapshot of the party.

A BIG PARTY AT VOODOO LOUNGE

Booze, Bands, Food, And Great Friends To Party With

Voodoo Lounge was gracious enough to open its doors for us to hold the event, there was plenty of food for everyone and no shortage of booze either.
I had been friends for at least 30 years with most of the friends who came and had been in bands with quite a few of them too. So, the obvious thing to plan was a couple of band reunions.

voodoo_lounge_thors_50th.png

hammaraxx_steemit_horizontal_line.jpg

THE BANDS ARE BACK TOGETHER

Some Great Friends & I Relived Our Bands From 30 Years Ago

The first band to play on the night was our old band P.I.S.S. (Permanently Intoxicated Seldom Sober). I was joined by Harry and Saundies on guitars, Snorkle Bender on drums and I played bass and did the vocals, just like old times almost 30 years ago.

We had all relearned a couple of the old songs from a cassette tape, but not actually had a chance to play together until on the night. It was awesome fun, a real step back in time moment.


XXSEX followed P.I.S.S. this time including Jon Giles on bass, Saundies on guitar, Bryce on drums and myself back on lead vocals. XXSEX played through the 90s and have had a couple of get togethers since, and it’s always special to play the old tunes and be on stage with these old buddies.


Our special guest band for the night was Küntsquäd who played a great show and for me, was the highlight of the night. Brett on Bass, Ezy on guitar, Bryce on drums and Paula on guitar and lead vocals pumped out a solid set and rocked the party.


My current band, Metal Fetish, finished the night with a set of old school metal. I had spent much of the night on stage, so after playing with Metal Fetish, I was finally able to properly mix with my guests.

hammaraxx_steemit_horizontal_line.jpg

A GREAT CAKE

My Customised Les Paul Custom Cake

How awesome was my birthday cake?

Our friend Samantha made the cake for me and did a fantastic job, recreating my guitar from a photo. I was stoked when I saw it. It not only looked great, it tasted amazing too.

That was the highlights from the party.

hammaraxx_steemit_horizontal_line.jpg

Cheers
Thor
@hammaraxx

Rock'N'Roll From Melbourne, Australia


**Please, Leave a Comment Below.**
Sort:  

I was early to join steemit. I have followed you, if there is time to see my blog and give a good voice steemit community
@dorsuwa-photography

Cheers @dorsuwa.
Thanks for reading.

Wow!
Nice.
Can I join you to celebrate next time?. I could play the piano for you.

For sure. A bit of piano is always welcome.

looks like a great party and a yummy cake

Yes, it was. Both...
Great party and the cake was very yummy.

wow loved the way you guys celebrate it, i love music

Thanks for dropping by. We had a great time. Music all night.

hallo @hammaraxx
i am new member on this steemit platform, i have upvote and follow you, if you have free time please visit my blog, i will be very happy, and please Upvote and follow me @adamazzi
thank you

No you haven't @adamazzi!

Everything is traceable on the Steemit blockchain.
Why lie?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63706.21
ETH 3073.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76